Peach State says: Spring is In Full Swing

20120320-065808.jpg
Spring has finally started to change the look in my yard. The grass is a grayish dead with bright green patches scattered around. Sadly the green patches are weeds! The plants in my yard are showing life after their short winter sleep. I took a few pictures while outside yesterday. I was so excited to see these signs of life, when I took the trash cans out to the street, that I had to grab my phone and snap these. The Dogwoods were filled with closed buds Sunday but now…well see for yourself…Spring is in Full Swing!

20120320-070653.jpg

The Flowering Cherry Trees are exploding in varied shades of pink with fluffy, snowball shaped blooms. These trees have started blooming along the streets of my neighborhood and it is like a snow flurry as the blooms give way to the bright green leaves.

20120320-071107.jpg

I wish I could have taken a picture of the deck yesterday morning. The stained boards, usually aged dingy brown, we’re covered in a bright yellow haze that suddenly appeared in a few hours. The warnings have been all over the news due to the extremely high pollen count.
I wish I had known! I have the itchy, watery eyes already starting…the itchy throat…not good! Our Easter Musical is this Sunday…I will have to avoid the outside! No walking for me! The only exercise I may get will be the stairs in our home and reaching for the Benadryl. “Benadryl Induced Coma here I come.”

20120320-072148.jpg

The small green leaves are sprouting on the Crepe Myrtle Trees and will be in full bloom this Summer. The Azaleas and Rhododendrons are covered in buds and are starting to show their true colors. The assortment of purple, pink and red flowers look like a “stadium wave” as the blooms move through the front yard from bush to bush. Spring is in Full Swing!

20120320-073100.jpg

This is the view from my front porch. The sweet Dogwood Tree will be covered in bright white blooms this week. The Flowering Cherry Tree stands majestically in the center of our yard. I do love Spring! The vivid transformations will be complete soon and lush green leaves will provide shady coolness. Now if we could just get a good rain to wash the pollen away…I love to work in my yard! The pulling of weeds, which used to feel like corporal punishment as a child, is relaxing and obviously needed as an adult. My family works in the yard sometimes…but typically it is me and two of my sons. My soon to be 19 year old does landscaping as a side job…”Isn’t that wonderful?”
I have been trying to teach our youngest how to pull weeds. At least he is not pulling the flowers and herbs up now. “That was a disaster!”

My youngest has been picked up by the school bus and my husband is off to work. This is a good…the crackling sounds are increasing in my sinuses. There is a dull pain turning into an sinus headache…Goody! “Say hello to my little friend!”

20120320-080402.jpg

With my Benadryl taken and latte’ in hand I will leave you for now. I am in defense mode now and have to get a grip on the crippling symptoms headed my way from the pesky particles of pollen. The sun has risen and the yellow haze is not the sun’s glow…pollen! Have a great day and don’t forget to look around you…you will see Spring is in Full Swing!

Peach State

Posted on March 20, 2012, in About me, family, friends, gardening, health, humor, Just Between Cousins, memories, musings, parenting, pictures, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m feeling your pain…

  2. I knew you would…our mutual cat loving friend and various peas in our pod are sharing in these delightful symptoms with us. Misery does love company! Hehe!
    Peach State

Leave a Reply

