Peach State says: The Best Things in Life!

20120312-063336.jpg

Each day we are told what we must have to be successful and happy. The new car, jewelry, that vacation resort package… But what about those of us who do not have the luxury to have those things. Why are we still happy? Not the superficial happiness but the deep down in your heart happy! “I know!” We have realized that “The Best Things in Life” are not things at all! They cost…your time, your love, and your care.

This is not going to be a “I’m am so broke” type of story. The truth is we may be able to do more but just choose not to. The various reasons for this are the schedules we keep and the children still at the house. I would love to go on a vacation! I have a beach house I can use anytime I would like to, within reason. “I may actually get to go this summer.” I don’t want the flashy jewelry…it could get lost working in the yard. The new car…okay…What kind would I like? I would love a new car…but I have a car to drive that is decent. This is about the little things we do for those we love…it does not cost a lot of money but can cost time. Making time is sacrificial any way you look at it but, the rewards benefit those touched by this time given. It is about taking care of each other! Doing for others…letting others do for you. Give and take is not equal but balanced. I guess I am on the receiving end right now. How do I know this statement is true…well…

Saturday night: My husband tried to wake me up after watching TV. “I sometimes fall asleep for about 30 minutes in the evening but for some reason I could not keep my eyes open.” It took him several tries to stir me. He has noticed a change in my sleep habits at night and knows that I do not get the rest I need. He put his proverbial foot down! You will stay home tomorrow and you and I will spend time together. You will not have any alarms set…complete rest…
When my husband notices my lack of sleep he begins to watch me. I have only learned this about my husband in the past 5 years. He makes light and uses humor as an excuse but, I know what he is doing. He has seen the wincing and painful looks cross my face and hide in my laughter. He has watched as my diet has changed as I confess I didn’t feel like eating.

Sunday: Well…no alarm set and I still got up early. “Not as early as I usually would on a Sunday!”
I made the coffee and our lattes’ and headed back upstairs. He told me he was taking me to breakfast…”Go get ready and I will take my meds.” We woke up the 18 year old to watch the 11 year old and left. It was a pleasant drive and since his returning to work our time together is definitely precious. After being seated the concern was voiced. It came down to his feeling I was overdoing it…pushing myself for others and forgetting about me. “I do that…that’s me!” I know I am not as young as I used to be…but that doesn’t mean I can’t still… “I was cut off!” I know you are in pain and it is from over doing it! It has not come from working at the house…he stopped knowing I knew he was referring to church. I have been involved in a number of projects that called for more physical brute strength on top of the normal everyday activities. These additions to my schedule along with the extra practices would take this conversation one way… I quickly beat him to the punch and said “I know how you feel and I will do my best to lessen the manual labor during my daily activities. I will make sure I rest and eat properly.”

All of this to say…I knew my husband was doing this out of love. He is not a very nurturing type of personality…but he has his days. I have learned to see through the cracking of jokes and see his fear and concern. I have learned to hear the undertones in his conversation and the read between the lines. This intervention of sorts came from his heart. I know he could not live without me…
“Who would take care of the dry-cleaning and fixing of meals and…” (insert laughter here)

When I turned my phone on for the first time I did notice the unbridled worry from three of my BFFs. Let me say to them…”I am sorry I could not reply as I should have!” I respected the time my husband set aside for us and did not take time away from us. I know you were worried and apologize to you now and more personally in a little while. The fact that they checked on my absence is one of “The Best Things in Life!” “Thank You!”

The small amount of time together with those we love and hold dear are precious. The smile in passing may turn someone’s day completely around. The pat on the back and holding of doors are often seen as nothing but nice manners. I love the line in the movie “While You Were Sleeping” when the characters are talking about doing for others. The topic of giving up a seat and letting a woman sit down may have seemed trivial but not to the woman able to sit down. We never know who will be touched by the little things we do. A kind word, a helping hand, a smile may be just little things but, when done with a loving heart they are priceless. Nothing is ever small! It doesn’t matter if they are close to us or someone we may not know…it is just a way to share “The Best Things in Life”.

20120312-075759.jpg

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on March 12, 2012, in About me, cleaning, coffee, faith, family, Food, friends, God, Just Between Cousins, movies, musings, my life, pain, parenting, social media and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I totally agree ; true levels of happiness come when you live a simple life- at least for me – and get the most out of your experiences;) Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:)

  2. You WERE missed yesterday, and not just because of your lovely alto harmonies! Some of us (not pointing any fingers) freak out a little when they don’t hear back, but then common sense whispers, “If it was anything serious, you would have heard about it by now.” Total freak out avoided!

    No apology necessary. Clearly one of “The Best Things In Life” is a caring husband who sees what you need, and knows that you won’t give it to yourself. I applaud his putting down of the proverbial foot! I think it must be a few sizes larger than the physical foot attached to his ankle to keep you down for a day!

    And I must tell you this, Peach State. I was sharing with my Mom about how your husband took care of you yesterday. I told her about your elbow pain, and a few statements later about the ban on technology imposed on you for the day. She, the quick-witted retired nurse diagnosed your elbow pain as “blogger’s elbow!”

    Laughter…one of my favorite things in life!

  3. Hey. you have a fantastic site! thanks for all the info!

Leave a Reply

