Peach State says: My Morning Coffee!

20120310-071401.jpg

I have said it before and I will say it again…I love my coffee! It is there for me when I wake up each morning and just before I close my eyes each night. A steady companion that fills my small corner of the world with warmth and flavorful aroma. I am sitting in my chair with a blanket over my chilled toes drinking in My Morning Coffee!

Things shared with My Morning Coffee!
The first bird song of the day.
The setting of the moon.
The rising of the sun.
Quiet house.
Snoring dog.
Checking of E-mail.
Checking in with Swagbucks.
Messages with friends on Facebook.
Intermittent texts from friends starting their days.
Phone calls with friends having their morning coffee.
The preparation of family leaving for work and school.
The settled and empty house.
The dog still snoring!
The sounds from the washer and drying as they chime off.

20120310-073013.jpg

We each have a routine we perform each morning. For most of us it starts with a cup of coffee! We relish the first sip and wait…for the eye opening flavor to reveal the day. The warmth begins to spread and we take another sip of our jolt of java.

I begin with a large mug of black coffee every morning…followed by a 20 ounce homemade latte’ about 20 minutes later. I prepare one for my husband to enjoy with his usual oatmeal and one for myself. I fill a large commuter cup with hot, black coffee and place it in my husband’s car. “He has about an hour to enjoy it as he drives to work.”

The latte is foam less and rich with espresso and a hint of vanilla syrup. We get the beans ground at our local Starbucks along with the syrups. One regular vanilla and mine is sugar-free vanilla. Our milk types are different with 2% for him and non-fat for me. He will occasionally splurge and get a breve’ ,when we are out, that is made with half&half. “The lighter the better for me…”

My coffee is in need of refill as I replace it back on the table next to my chair. I will refill it soon…just before taking my youngest to a study session, at his school, for an upcoming state-wide test. There may be a line of traffic on this bright and chilly Saturday morning….”I will want to enjoy my trusted companion as I maneuver this stop and go thrill ride.

I have often been ridiculed, by people, about the amount of coffee I drink. It has become a mainstay, in my life, for other reasons too! I suffer with Asthma and Migraines! The caffeine works to relax the blood vessels letting the blood surge along the intricate pathways of my lungs and brain. I know this java jolt helps…the doctors have given me caffeine laden medications in the ER… Of course, I am usually bouncing of the walls after the meds they inject into my body.

I celebrate the love of this caffeinated elixir with a wonderful group of friends. Several of us are never without a cup in hand. “Peas in a Pod!” That’s us in a nutshell! We gather together every third Sunday, after singing for the local retirement complex, at the closest Starbucks. The time shared is short but filled with laughter and fellowship. We then get in our cars and head to our church for the remainder of choir practice. We have our ways of counting down to our next gathering…via Facebook and group texts. Some of us have gotten in hot water with these group messages…and the time of day they are used! ” I chuckle thinking about those who read my blog that were involved in this late night or early morning messaging.” In my defense may I say…it was really funny!

My Morning Coffee is gone and it is time to get ready to leave. Enjoy your coffee and think of me…and My Morning Coffee! Have a great day!

Peace State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on March 10, 2012, in coffee, family, Food, friends, humor, Just Between Cousins, musings, social media, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Loved this blog! When I saw 25 pictures of your beloved daily companion, I knew I would have to read this one outloud to my husband, as he shares your love for coffee! When I finished reading it, he said, “I think I’m in love!” LOL! I told him that he had to clarify that statement, so as not to freak out Peach State, and yes, he was referring to your blog! Whew! LOL!

    Our pod does have a good time, and a lot of the fun is centered around coffee. I get teased about my wimpy half-caff…with Splenda…and half ‘n half. Some say it isn’t really coffee, but I argue that it is “mild and embellished!” I also enjoy poking fun at Peach State and a mutual friend for loving coffee. I must say, especially after my last poke at them (on facebook), that they are really good sports about it, enjoying the humor…which scares me a little wondering what kind of pay-back I’m in for.

    My morning coffee experience has been greatly enhanced by reading this blog. I’m not much of a “routine” keeper, especially since my children are grown-ups with families of their own. But, also not being much of a morning person, I just want to get started as slowly as I can. I used to hit the floor running most every morning. Now that only happens whenever there is a morning appointment that couldn’t be avoided or moved to an afternoon appointment! I don’t drink coffee all day long, but I do now drink it everyday as opposed to only once in a while, as I did for most of my life. I find it becomes more and more necessary for me.

    I wish I could drink my coffee stronger, as I suffer from same said medical conditions as Peach State. But due to another medical issue, I have to be very cafeful about my overall daily caffeine intake, as well as the strength of each “dose” of caffeine I drink at a time. So, at night, I must confess to total decaf coffee drinking…I hope this won’t affect our friendship!

    • I am thrilled your husband is in love with… My blog! Lol
      Our mutual friend and I are plotting retaliation. Hehe!
      Thank you for taking time to enjoy your morning
      Coffee and blog with the love of your life.
      Peach State

  2. What a delightful description

  3. I LOVE COFFEE!!! Can’t start my day without it and must end my day with it!!! I even order the beans green (from all over) and ROAST it myself….Kinda a hobby now 🙂

Leave a Reply

