Peach State says: A Family Circus

20120306-065801.jpg

Do you find yourself nodding your head at how the ins and outs of the average family resemble the Family Circus cartoon? “I know I do!” The child-like views of normal…and reality. There are days we find ourselves running around in circles just going from point A to point B. We live and, for the most part, function in our own Family Circus!

The stay at home mom is becoming a relic…found in the museum or on old television shows. The balancing act of laundry basket and a child on the hip while stirring the dinner has given way to a different balancing act of work and home. I was a stay at home mom for many years! I really enjoyed this time with my three active boys. They kept me hopping and taught me the concept of planning ahead. Planning ahead was easy to do because of the Family Circus I grew up in! Manners and following directions were the cornerstone and as the four of us kids grew up the more we helped around the house. I learned to care for a baby when my youngest sister came home from the hospital. “I was 12 years old a month later!” The art of packing a diaper bag for a full days activities was mastered and stored away until I had my first child.

I returned to work when my youngest entered the Pre-K program and continued till he entered 2nd grade. We moved that year and I was glad I was not working…outside the home! I later worked as a substitute teacher, which turned into a full-time position, at a church-school. I really liked it there and would still be working there but, they decided not to call me because we moved our membership to another church. “Church politics…let’s not go there!”.

I found activities to fill my daily schedule without working. Taxi driver, tutor, counselor, chef, coach, and snack coordinator…were just a few of the various jobs performed all centered around the boys. With the newly adopted son…we have doctors to see on a regular basis and school meetings and normal life activities. “I am glad I am not working…outside the home!” It gives me the chance to make priceless memories and enjoy the little things in life!

20120306-075740.jpg

The three older boys can drive themselves where they need to go. They have found they still need mom…”Can you iron this for me?” I thought I taught him how to iron! “Where did I put my keys?” and my favorite “Mom, what’s for dinner?” I still do a head count for dinner…it was six..then 5 and now it can be 3-5 for dinner. I am lucky…I have found that if I lay down, during allergy/sinus season, I will only rest for a little while and rise to continue my day. No need for alarms though…

20120306-080706.jpg
“I really need to work a few of the kinks out!”

Life is busy and our schedules can change daily! We all have situations that alter our plans and we all find solutions. We have to…when it comes to our family we will do everything we can. We may gripe and complain…and we are not alone!
We teach our children to stand on their own two feet and think for themselves and watch as they begin their own Family Circus. I know my parents have enjoyed the hours of side-splitting humor they have received from watching us in our little Family Circus!

My husband recently obtained a coin from 1884. He let the boys see the coin and asked if they had ever held anything that old. “I had to think quickly…they have a sharp witty humor…” I shook my head and dared them to speak…knowing exactly what they were thinking. “I was not going to say anything about you mom…” followed by a sheepish grin. “Right!” We need to draw from the past and find the humor, when we can, to form the foundation of a strong family. As we stumble through mistakes and find the solutions we will make our foundation stronger!

Do you live in a Family Circus? Do you find yourself shaking your head at the cartoon in agreement? Do you find humor in what your children do? You are not alone!
The dryer is buzzing…and the coffee cup is empty. I will continue with my day and wish you success in yours.

Peach State

Posted on March 6, 2012, in About me, cleaning, cooking, faith, family, Just Between Cousins, memories, musings, parenting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I just spent about fifteen minutes (with a couple of interruptions) typing my comment, when my cat, trying to be on top of whatever it is I am doing at any given moment, deleted it! So, Family Circus…yes, but mostly it’s a zoo around here!

  2. hey great site, i enjoyed reading it. keep up the good work

Leave a Reply

