Peach State says: Weekend Reflection

20120303-064030.jpg

It has been a long night filled with restless sleep. Trying to sleep while listening for the weather radio alarm or the Tornado Sirens to sound does not provide the rest needed to face the next day. The flashing of lightening, through the blinds, cut the darkness viciously. I rolled over and finally got comfortable again…”Did you see that?” brought me back from peaceful pre-dream state with that sudden numbing sensations coursing through my body. “The lightening strike!” I touched my husband’s arm and said…”No, I was not facing the window…I was also asleep..” I rolled over to face the window as he apologized. I love thunderstorms at night…but not when accompanied by Tornados. With a semi-fuzzy head I want to take a look at this past week…“A Weekend Reflection”.

Up before dawn again with my favorite companion next to me…I hear the faint bird songs beginning to wake up the day. I know the day will unfold as usual and am grateful for that as I prepare coffee and breakfast for my husband in a daze. No graceful dance as I sweep around the kitchen fixing three different things at the same time. “Just second-nature actions anxiously waiting for that first sip of coffee!”. This has been a long week….hear goes…!

Sunday was an active day filled with fellowship and practices.
Monday was an active day with normal activities and Jazzersize and an Easter musical practice.
Tuesday was an active day with normal activities and pain…pain…pain…”Feel the burn!” and “Feel the loss!”
Wednesday was my husband’s day off….and choir practice and praise team practice…and some confusion…but that’s all water under the proverbial bridge.
Thursday was an active day filled with presidential campaign rallies and grocery shopping…”Feel the burn”. Standing for hours in heels on pavement when my body had not recovered from Monday was not the best thing to do…but it was exciting!
Friday was an upside down and backwards day!

The day started early, as usual, and in routine fashion the coffee was made and enjoyed. Once my youngest son and husband departed I timed out the rest of the morning. Everything centered around the funeral of a dear sweet spirit. She was on our hearts and in our prayers before Monday but had complications Monday evening. Tuesday morning, about 5:15, she passed away. I was making a dish to take to the family and coordinating the delivery of others dropping food at the church. I had received several emails and phone calls asking me where to put the food and when to leave them. I needed to arrive for a short run-through of a song for the funeral service so I arrived 30 minutes prior to the practice time to clear a space for the incoming dishes. After the wiping of tears and the departure of the family the dishes were gathered and taken to the house. We straightened the kitchen and wiped off the table. Combined desserts and placed them together on the counter to leave room for the main dishes set on the table. A small arrangement of spring-like blooms were placed in the center of the table. We moved chairs away from the table and placed them around the living room. The family arrived, back from the final farewell at the cemetery, and were met with hugs and misty eyed responses and even laughter. I made my way home secure in how the rest of the day would play-out. “Oops! I forgot to consider the next couple of phone calls!” plans have changed…I am going over to my girlfriend’s house earlier!…movie night at the church and there is dinner before the movie. The dinner already planned was too much for just three of us so in came Plan B.

Long story short…my youngest and I ate and watched a Hallmark movie while waiting for my husband to get home. The low rumbles of thunder started about 7:30 and the weather gurus had warned us of the long night ahead. Settled in our chairs, with our youngest nestled away in bed, we began watching a TiVo show. The weather radio alarm broke the calm as the Tornado siren began to sound. I raced up the stairs to get my son and my husband’s wallet. “Grab your pillow and shoes…don’t forget your blanket!” we raced down the stairs and he continued to follow my husband to the basement. I grabbed the leash and my purse and my phone and headed to the basement door. I hooked the leash on my little princess-dog, who waited anxiously for me, and preceded downstairs. I began texting my sons to let them know to take cover. They were safe! We knew from the news that a tornado was on the ground and headed in our direction. The coverage continued forever…”You know how that goes…the stats and informational jargon…this map…that map.” The boys made it home and the warnings expired. The system behind this initial storm reached back through two states. It was going to be a long night!

So here I am…in definite need of more coffee! My husband already on his way to work and one son is off to help his girlfriend’s dad. The day is gray as the cloudy overcast sky begins to chase the night. The droplets of the leftover drenching fall from the trees and gutters in the cooled morning air. I am expecting a phone call any moment from my husband about the damage in the city he works in. They supposedly got hit hard last night. Today is another Easter Musical practice and then the ladies trio will go over the song for tomorrow. I need to get my nails done…I wonder if I will have time…

I laughed quitely, just now, looking back over this page of “normal”! The comings and goings of an average family may not be exciting. The intellectual mind may have fallen asleep during the second paragraph. But I take comfort in the expected normalcy. The fact that I can appreciate this way of life, with it’s insecurities, gives me a reason to wake up in the morning. We all have those pesky invaders that barge into our “normal” life. We will get knocked down…that is a given…but we must get up and stand. If we don’t the complications will get the better of us and our way of life. I just know we are stronger than those situations. This past week was filled with pesky invaders…I chose to deal with and get past the situations. Make a negative a positive and continue. I will not allow the negative to be dwelled upon ruining my life or the lives of my family. I am normal! And darn proud of that…

How will you handle life’s pesky invaders? Can you look back at a hard week and make it normal?
Take a moment right now and have a positive “Weekend Reflection!”

Peach State

Posted on March 3, 2012, in About me, family, Just Between Cousins, musings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. As it is almost 11 pm on Saturday night, and I have done nothing of which was planned for the weekend so far, I don’t think I’m quite ready to comment on how I handle…what did you call it? Oh yeah…”life’s pesky invaders!” Just like you, I try to see the good that comes out of it, and forget the stress it caused…

  2. Hey. you have a fantastic site! thanks for all the info!

  3. Genuine nice design and style along with superb written content , very little else we’d like :Deborah.

  4. Very interesting details you have noted , thanks for putting up.

Leave a Reply

