Peach State says: The Crust Around the Edge!

20120227-070105.jpg

I was back at church yesterday afternoon preparing for the second sound check and practice. The conversation turned to dinner and the list of possibilities from the others on the stage did not include cooking at home. I leaned out and said…”Mine is already cooked and ready to eat.” the shocked faces turned to face me…”I fixed a Chicken Pot Pie and it was almost done when I left for choir practice.” I was asked how I could make it in the time I was at home… “Well, the recipe is easy because my husband does not like soupy Chicken Pot Pie. The recipe is quick and I just hope they took it out of the oven.” I smiled and then said ” If they do eat before I get home I will only have the Crust Around the Edge!”

They really love this recipe and it is very versatile. I told them I would get them the recipe.

Chicken Pot Pie
4 Chicken Breasts
Large bag of frozen Broccoli Florets
3-4 cups of shredded cheese
1-2 refrigerated pastry/pie shells

Place 4 boneless and skinless chicken breasts in a pot of water and bring to a boil.
Reduce heat and let cook for about 15 minutes or until tender.
Remove from heat.
Add broccoli florets to the pot and let sit for 5-7 minutes.
Drain!
Remove the chicken and, with two forks, begin shredding and pulling apart.
Combine the chicken and broccoli and place in a greased casserole dish.

Additional items that you can add: bacon crumbled, diced onion

Cover with your favorite cheese…cheddar used here.
Lay the pie crust shell on top and tuck around the edge. I use two shells because of the shallow rectangular dish I used.
Because the ingredients are already cooked the only thing left to do is browning the crust.
Follow the directions for baking on the package and brown.
Serve with a green salad.

This serves 5 people….well three growing boys and two adults on diets.

My family really like this recipe and it is not a time consuming procedure. I knew I would not be home in time to prepare dinner and get my youngest off to bed if I waited to cook when I got home. Planning ahead is the best! Besides…why cause strife about my schedule and not cook at home.
This recipe is quick and easy and a family favorite!

When I got home someone had already sampled it! I served up the portions and fed my youngest and sent him to bed. “School in the morning…remember!” and actually got some for myself and not just “The Crust Around the Edge!.

I hope you get the chance to try this recipe…let me know! I am off to exercise class! I will tell you about that experience another day. Wish me luck and have a great day!

Peach State

Posted on February 27, 2012, in About me, cleaning, cooking, Diet, family, Just Between Cousins, recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Sounds good, and easy! I will have to half the recipe for me and Billy, but it sounds like a good Sunday night recipe. Sure beats Ramen noodles and a balogna sandwich!

  2. To reduce salt for Raman noodles, I pour off almost all of the soup, and just eat the slightly flavored noodles…with chopsticks, just for fun! I do buy light bologna, thinly sliced. I don’t eat salt on a lot of foods that most people salt; I think that is why it doesn’t bother me to eat some saltier foods. I will let you know when I try the recipe…

  3. Gonna make this probably tonight or this weekend…

  4. We had it the other night… Mmm!
    Let me know how you like it!
    Peach State

    • Made it last night. I made two smaller casseroles, and sent one to my mom’s. She said my stepdad wouldn’t eat anything with broccoli in it, but she has plenty of other mouths to feed down there this weekend! Billy and I enjoyed it, and I will be making it again! The only problem I had was that I cooked it in my toaster oven because it was a gazillion degrees in here last night, and the crust didn’t want to get done, so I had to cook it longer, which dried out the chicken a little. Not to fear! A little reduced fat sour cream added to each helping took care of it! I will probably make it in the regular oven next time!

      See, that wouldn’t have happened in my grandmother’s toaster oven, which was given to me after she died. That thing cooked so great, and I could fit a little larger pans and dishes in it. Billy finally forced me to get rid of it because the cord began getting hot whenever I cooked in it. It truly was a fire hazard. They just don’t make ’em like that any more!

      Well, I am sitting here eating a salad and the little bit of casserole that was left over from last night as I type…yummy! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

