Peach State says: When All Else Fails!

20120223-064101.jpg

The final preparations were being made for dinner and the local news makes a statement…
“This is set to be the final GOP Debate…” My husband starts looking for the channel and time as the boys cringe with anticipation. “Found it but can’t record it!” “Who is recording 2012?” Never-mind I will record upstairs.” 8:00 arrives and everyone gathers for the nightly TiVo programming.
Quietly I reached for the remote and pressed list…”Suggestions?” American Idol will do. I started saying who was staying and who was leaving before the judges announced it…and had to admit to spoilers. The top 24 were leaked and so far I knew them all…”Then why watch?” If not Idol then what…The GOP Debate? “When All Else Fails!” A Movie!

We had a movie we all wanted to see and anything was better that politics. I have had enough politics to last a lifetime. We could have caught up on TiVo after fast forwarding through American Idol and cleaned off our list of recordings. The consensus spoke their minds and the decision was made…Tower Heist it is! The cast of this movie made it worth the watching. What an ensemble of personality quirks! Ben Stiller is one of our favorites as well as Matthew Broderick, who was recognized by my sons as Ferris. And Alan Alda, well liked since MASH days, was the icing on the cake. The premise of the movie was current and the unlikely collection of comrades unfolded.

“Don’t worry…I am not one of those people that tell you how it ends.”. The comic action unfolds and trust issues come into view. Wrenches are thrown into the plan and the cast must adapt.
All in all I give it two thumbs up and enjoyed the movie. It is past 11:00 by this time and the TV goes dark. Conversation lingers as we prepare to go upstairs for bed. “I am glad we watched the movie.” says one of my sons. “Anything is better than a debate!” says the other son. “When All Else Fails!” Movie time!

We will watch the debate later this week with the boys and will try and finalize our decision on which candidate to vote for in March. The constant barrage of commercials and interviews show each candidate trying to one-up the others by throwing the others under the proverbial bus. You can only handle so much of this sport. I would rather watch wrestling. “Nope…not even wrestling!” It is fake and staged too! The TV Series seasons are changing and most of our shows are showing their Season Finales. Only a few of our seasonal favorites are returning due to schedule upheavals and television politics. You know…do away with the good shows and keep the bad ones! We have more movies that we have not seen and may have to save them for another time. I am sure we will face another crisis of what to watch and “When All Else Fails!</em …well you understand!

Until then I will rest assured, knowing the majority will always make the decision, and TV viewing will continue on as a family activity. As I close..I have opened the window on the back door. The sounds of morning have begun. The birds each chirping their greetings as the dogs bark at passing walkers. The wind chimes tinkle and clank as the slight breeze stirs them gently. Life seems so easy and calm with these sounds flowing through the window. Maybe instead of “debating” what to watch we should just turn the TV off and open a window. “Yea..I know the boys would like that idea!” But “When All Else Fails!” they will want a movie…loud and full of action not nature singing to them mixed with life. The TV does not usually come on till about 7:00 so until then the house can be filled with bird songs and wind chimes and my music…”They really love that!”

What do you do “When All Else Fails”? When there is absolutely nothing to do and the natives, children, are restless. Pass on suggestions or advice! Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on February 23, 2012, in family, Just Between Cousins, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. The debate! I need to see it. Hope I can find it in it’s entireity on the internet. I know who I don’t want to vote for, and am finding out more about the one I like so far. There may be hope after all!

    The son who said that anything is better than a debate needs to be reminded of that next time he argues with you! LOL! Don’t you just hate it when someone throws your own words back in your face?

    I have a million things I need to be doing besides watching TV. We don’t have any cable or satellite coming in here for the TV, but my husband just subscribed to Hulu. We have DVDs as well. But, we like to relax at night in front of the TV; he in his recliner, and me in my broken, but rigged recliner portion of the couch. It’s actually more comfortable for me. Even then, I want to be doing something, so unless I am sleeping through the shows, I am crocheting, knitting, sewing, or up and down doing laundry while watching the shows.

    Like you, the TV doesn’t come on until sometime in the evening. But unlike you, I am not disciplined enough to keep it off all day if we have the service coming in here. I won’t let my husband show me how to bring up the Hulu shows from his computer, so that works for me. He keeps trying, but I tell him that I don’t want to know!

    It is just me and my husband here, but the grandchildren all live close, so when they are here, they get to choose. The teenager likes what we like usually…finally! But R rated movies are a no-no at the grandparents house! The little ones…that’s different. TV with DVDs come on for the smallest ones whenever they are here. They play and dance to the songs from Veggie Tales and Barbie princess movies. The songs get stuck in mine an my husband’s heads, so we run around the house singing them all day long! But I actually enjoy Veggie Tales, so I got my own issues to deal with!!!

    You have a great day too!

    • Love for Vegi Tales is a good thing!
      I often find myself humming or singing those songs.
      As for debates… I know we should have watched it
      last night for several reasons: 1) to add
      to the knowledge and opinions we have for each
      of the candidates, 2) to have more time to research
      what the candidates said more thoroughly, and 3) so we
      would not have to watch it later. (hehe)

      • LOL! I know what you mean. The debates do tend to get on my nerves sometimes. Usually the moderator is the one annoying me the most! Thank you for the sanity check…I need them often!

Leave a Reply

