Peach State says: Happy Valentines Day!

20120214-071624.jpg

Happy Valentines Day! This day is not a day used for the showering of elaborate gifts in our house…it is a day of simple reminders. I may get roses and chocolate like many others but, that is not all it is to us. Valentines Day is not just for sweethearts….it is for all those we love. I am not saying to give expensive tokens trying to prove how important they are to you. You should not have to place a value on a relationship. Just a simple thought or e-card…just wanted to say “I love you!”…nothing fancy.

It is the little ways we say “I love you” and in the little things we do. For years we did not have the ability to buy gifts much less a store bought card. We had to be creative in our gift giving. I would cook a special dinner and light some candles, after putting the boys to bed early, for a romantic setting. Sticky notes along the normal path, from the car to the closet, giving my husband a view of my heart through little thoughts. Just being together and sharing that time are priceless compared to a gift that could break or collect dust.

Valentines Day should be about the heart and from the heart!

You can not buy love, affection, and friendship. It won’t be real! Being ourselves and choosing a creative gift will let the ones we love catch a peek at our heart. I know that most men do not have the creative gene and struggle with thinking outside the box. My husband is finally getting there…he just had to be trained! HeHe! I want to know he actually thought about me while searching for a gift. Color and pattern…scent…dark chocolate over milk chocolate…well you get the idea. My husband knows there are certain places I would love to go and things that I collect. He has that as a base and inspiration and creativity takes over. He has also incorporated help from two of our sons. They are very sneaky minds with a romantic streak. The are like his eyes and ears in a manner of speaking. This has been good for them…they will need to nurture this ability for that special someone soon.

As my husband prepares for his typical day at work….I will set myself to preparing dinner…baking a special Valentines cake and find the perfect placement of the chocolates. My husband sees love in the things I do around the house. I keep that in mind as I plan celebrations of any kind. So I will KISS [Keep It Simple Sweetie] and make our time together a pleasant memory not a battle over how much was spent. I love roses…but I love other flowers more. Tulips and Daffodils top the list followed by Gerber Daisies and Irises.

My husband will call the boys when he gets close to home and tell them what to do…for instance!
Last night…he timed the arrival of a dozen roses as he walked in the door. He had my sons do his shopping which explains all his conversations with them. One son keeps me preoccupied as the other leaves…hmmm…and suddenly appears behind his flower toting daddy. Cute little smiles like a wolf in the sheep’s clothing.

It is not just for my sweetheart as I was gently reminded about the little heart shaped box of chocolates for the boys yesterday. “Mom did you remember to get the treats for us?” I had to chuckle on the inside…he knows I did! It is a little $1 box…a small thought and gesture just for them.

Whatever the relationships you have in your life…let them know you are thinking about them. Conversation hearts on a homemade card to say e-mail you or BFF are day makers. In making it special for someone else your day will be special too. So…Happy Valentines Day! Have a great day!

P.S. coffee on Sunday…you know who you are! LOL!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on February 14, 2012, in About me, cooking, family, Just Between Cousins, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Billy and I have a similar idea about Valentine’s Day, as well as other holidays and days of celebration. We too, understand that it is the little things, and the ordinary things as well, that we do from day to day that say, “I love you” the loudest. But, I think it is good to have a day to celebrate it! Some people “go big” on Valentine’s Day, and that’s okay. That’s part of who they are. If we were financially rich, Billy and I might also “go big”, but we aren’t, so we also do the KISS method! And that’s more than okay with me!

    I have also included the little ones in the family throughout the years. I always acknowledged my daughters, nieces, and nephews, and children I babysat in my Valentine’s gift giving. But, as more children are added, and the former children grow up, the list changes. (though I still acknowledge them all for birthdays and Christmas) I now give a little something to one niece because she is still young, and my grandchildren! I adore the children in the family, and am thankful to be a part of their lives!

    This Valentine’s Day, I crocheted a heart garland, and bought some V’day decorations, one which spelled out “I love you” to decorate my husband’s large dry erase board in his office. I bought him a card with a sentiment that spoke my heart this year, and crocheted a decorative heart to place with the card on is desk. He bought me a card, and some of my favorite chocolate, and left them where I would see them this morning. ALSO, he made reservations for us at one of my favorite restaurants! Yay! Actually, I think he called my niece who happens to work there, and had her do it…LOL….hey, it works for me!

    In the end, I think it’s all about what you treasure. I surely treasure my relationship with my husband! I have been in love with my him since we were kids! I can’t imagine my life without him, without his love. I am so thankful for him.

  2. Hey. you have a great site! thanks for all the info!

Leave a Reply

