Peach State says: A Girl Can Dream…Can’t She?

20120209-074319.jpg
The waves gently caressing the shoreline as a breeze whispers in my ear…”Wake Up!”…What?
“A Girl Can Dream…Can’t She?”

Why is it that we dream of exotic locales with a beach or beautiful city like Paris ? Most of us have been to a beach…”I have been fortunate to visit many different types of beaches.” I have experienced the varied beaches in Hawaii, the beaches of the Washington State coastline, the small strip in New York City, and the various beaches connected with three cruises. I love beaches but only dream about one…the one I grew up loving…our beach house ( home away from home ). The brilliant white sand that seems to melt as you walk to the water’s edge. The vibrant shades of blues and greens that stretch to the horizon and beyond. ( breathe ) The ebb and flow of the crashing waves and the scent of relaxation in the salty breeze. What? A Girl Can Dream…Can’t She?

Everything we need just appears and we have no worries. There is a peaceful atmosphere filled with all the warmth and love a person could ask for. No lists of daily labors or loads of laundry to be completed and folded. Meals are laid out with only a cloudy wisp of thought. Everything, just when we desire it, appears and floats away into the dream mists. What? “A Girl Can Dream…Can’t She?

The European Vacation has eluded my simple life. I hope one day to be able to see the sights only seen in the movies. Until then…I will stroll, across the bridges, viewing the brush stokes of the artists. I will breathe in the fragrance of fresh bread and espresso floating on the air. The mere blinking of my eyes will transport me to another scene filled with visions of a culture rich in beauty. The culmination of this dream leads to one fantastic place. The final opening of my eyes brings me to The Eiffel Tower in Paris! There is just something about the Eiffel Tower. “I know there are many who feel the same way!” I close my eyes in hopes of seeing the city from the Eiffel Tower only to wake up and turn off the blaring alarm. What? “A Girl Can Dream…Can’t She?

I wish that I could dream about how my sons could all have wonderful jobs and successful lives. I wish I could dream about my youngest finally realizing what we have been trying to teach him…and follow through. I wish I could dream about how not to have the financial strife that is presently plaguing our family. There would be no need to diet and I would live contently in a peaceful and good life! If I could…I would! Wouldn’t you? What? “A Girl Can Dream…Can’t She?

What do you see and try to hold on to in your dreams? We just need a little escape from our routines and stresses…yes we do!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on February 9, 2012, in About me, beach house, Just Between Cousins, musings, my life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I dream a lot of things for others, those I love dearly. Those are the ones I hold on to. But for myself, I dream first and foremost of being migraine free and very healthy because I know I could accomplish so much more right here, right now. I dream of not hating flying so that I could travel more…when I win the lottery! LOL! Of course, when I win the lottery, I am going to take care of a lot of things around here, and my family will be taken care of as well. Back to travel…I would love to go to two places first: Israel, and Ireland. After that, I would like to visit places in the USA that I haven’t already visited. Maybe I’ll take a year long tour of the 48 states on the mainland, then travel to Alaska and Hawaii. Eventually, I would travel the world! Okay, not the Arab states, nor N. Korea, and definitely not Antartica! The problem with actually escaping reality for a little while is that it is for a little while…

Leave a Reply

