Heart of Dixie says . . . my friend and I have been visiting churches

And in particular we are looking for a liberal church.  This is a 180 degree change for me.  In all my Navy moves, I have looked for the conservative church. My friend and I met at a Bible study which began in an Anglican church (read  – very conservative).  She’s a fine Christian woman who after her horrible marriage was over found herself in a homosexual relationship.  I’m not defining her by who she loves.  I’m defining her as a Christian.  Anyway her special someone lives in the D.C. area, so she needs a friend here.  This is where you put your faith to your feet.  We have been visiting churches, especially liberal churches.  And I have to ask myself if I care if people wonder if I am gay.  Unfortunately, I do.  I’m working on that.  (I’m not, by the way.  It bothers me that I feel the need to say that.)

Anyway the Anglican church in America (a congregation of which is where we met) was begun as a response to the Episcopal church’s ordination of homosexuals.  Ergo, she feels uncomfortable there now, even though we still affiliate with a Bible study. At the same time, I am missing singing in a choir (as the Anglican church only has a praise team, and I don’t care for praise songs very much).  So it makes sense that I visit churches with her.

We went to a downtown church today where we learned about Jonah (and the people of Nineva, who God loved, too).  We sang this old, old song, and I wondered, considering the poem I intend to teach on Wednesday, how many people heard the very words they were singing.  Also, when if the last time you openly, loudly proclaimed your sin to the world in song (with a magnificent pipe organ, I might add)?

Depth Of Mercy

by Charles Welsey
Depth of mercy! Can there be
Mercy still reserved for me?
Can my God His wrath forbear,
Me, the chief of sinners, spare?

I have long withstood His grace,
Long provoked Him to His face,
Would not hearken to His calls,
Grieved Him by a thousand falls.

I my Master have denied,
I afresh have crucified,
And profaned His hallowed Name,
Put Him to an open shame.

Now incline me to repent,
Let me now my sins lament,
Now my foul revolt deplore,
Weep, believe, and sin no more.

There for me the Savior stands,
Shows His wounds and spreads His hands.
God is love! I know, I feel;
Jesus weeps and loves me still.

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on January 23, 2012, in About me, Christianity, faith, God, Just Between Cousins, music, musings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I usually find a phrase or 40 in a song that apply to me. I know that we were raised to hear the words not just the tune. This is a powerful message in this old song. I can honestly say that there are some Praise Songs that I just sing…but a majority of them have a wonderful message and touch my heart. Listen to the words and ask for the message to come through to you.

  2. Good point. Attitude adjustment. Sometimes, I just love poetry, though.

Leave a Reply

