Peach State says: Mr. Moon Hiding Behind that Tree!

Made me smile!

“Oh Mr. Moon, Moon bright and shinning Moon.  Won’t you please shine down on me.  Oh Mr. Moon, Moon hiding behind that tree…”  You probably have not heard the song!  I know it from “The Singings” on my college steps.  We would gather and sing old songs of friendship and courtship.  “It was a college deep in tradition and beliefs.”

This morning, as I prepared to send my youngest off to school, I stepped out on the front steps to allow my spoiled, little princess the opportunity to take care of business.  “She was begging in a cute leg-crossed way!”  There was the most perfect crescent moon shinning from behind our “Pom-Pom Tree”.  “I have always called it this because of the spiky little dangling pom-poms.”  The sun was just about to rise giving a  painted brush-stroked look across the sky.  The bare tree stood proudly in the cold morning air hiding the buds that will soon burst with lush green leaves.

I love looking at the moon in its different phases.  There is a mystery about it and yet, I feel like it is a friend.  “Yes, I was one of those.”  I can see a full moon and instantly see the “Man in the Moon”.  I told Mr. Moon everything and laughed and cried with him.  Sometimes he was happy and sometimes he was sad.  He has emotion and understood my deepest thoughts and desires.  “I am really a sappy soul.”  Mr. Moon has a warm and loving glow to light my nighttime darkness.  The gentle caress of this glow cradles the earth as we sleep.  This same glow guides sailors and pilots using the beautiful landscape of the heavens.

Mr. Moon has been with me during the best and worst of times.  He peeks in and I am at peace for a moment.  Life may be swirling around me, like a whirlpool, but Mr. Moon seems motionless.  A constant light reminding me that another day is coming.  “I apologize for the flowery imagery…I tend to look for anything positive during the hard times so that I do not fall into the snare of despair.”

The sun is shinning fully now as dark clouds begin moving in.  Mr. Moon has gone for now and will return to guard over the night.  Have a great day and remember to smile back at the “Man in the Moon” when you see him.

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on January 19, 2012, in About me, Just Between Cousins, musings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

