Peach State says: Curve Balls

This has been a very busy weekend and I have survived.  The weekend started with a Prayer Conference, a planned activity I signed up for, at my church.  It started Friday evening and then again on Saturday morning.  On Sunday we had a special emphasis for the New Family Life Center Dedication with lots of music and Guest Speaker.  Everything was fine and falling into place!  Then the proverbial “Curve Ball” hit the fan.  Let’s just say I have run the gambit of emotions this weekend.  I am in a state of calm shakiness feeling peacefully distraught.  I know you may think I am one of the craziest people you have ever known.   “I would have to agree with you right now!”

I wish I could go into details!  “Maybe another time.”

All I can say about this “Curve Ball” is that it is probably the best thing that could happen.  Inconvenient and tragic but, all in all, a “silver lining”.

Curve Balls“, when thrown at you, can put your life is such disarray.  One moment the crowd is cheering and banners and signs are flying high and the next is a collective and silenced hush.  You have two options..you can hold your head high with an “everything will turn out okay” spirit or you can throw your bat down and storm off crying.  Let me just speak from experience for a moment and say that the latter of the two choices is sometimes the easier of the two options.  We have to face the circumstances thrown at us on a daily basis and learn to make that darn lemonade.  We have to listen to the inner commanding officer barking orders on the battlefield.  “Get up soldier!”  “But I have been shot sir!” “Where?” “My leg sir!” “Walk it off soldier..That’s and order!”  “Yes sir!”  We get up and start walking, as the pain increases our resolve increases, and we continue on with the path before us.

I had the special yesterday and it was a tough one…or was it?  It was almost word for word Psalm 121.  “I love singing the Psalms.” I was fearful, to say the least, about being able to sing this song on this very important day.  Five people knew the situation that had occurred the day before and after the song was over the looks on their faces reflected the radiating warmth I had flowing through my body.  I was told later it was incredible and outstanding…I can’t believe you could get through that song….I was praying for you!  I think the look I got from the pastor said it all.  He simply looked up and smiled before I started and bowed his head.  As the song reached the huge, voice filled, end…the entire church was in a clapping frenzy and the pastor looked up again and caught my eye, and with the broadest and whitest grin, nodded.  I don’t remember walking back to the choir after the song.  The other special was just as powerful and held my heart in that one two…but I was with the Ensemble and there is strength in numbers.  The congregation rose to new heights by the end of this song and the Guest Speaker rose to take his place.

Knowing where my help and strength come allows me to hold my head up and courageously walk off the field.  I know that when the next “Curve Ball” is thrown I will face it with determination and strength.  I may actually swing and connect with the ball causing a reverberating crack to echo throughout the stadium.  I may also be the only one who knows I hit that “Curve Ball” out of the park…and that’s okay!

How will you react when you get throw a “Curve Ball”?

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on January 16, 2012, in About me, Christianity, faith, God, music, musings, my life, spirituality, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Donna, you always sing very well, but that was particularly beautiful yesterday…and such a blessing to hear those beautiful words sang so beautifully. It seems God was also blessing you through this song…that’s why it was so “convincing,” as they say. I’m thankful that you drew on God’s strength yesterday and sang that song. I know it ministered to many…

Leave a Reply

