Peach State says: Back to Basics with my Diet

I know I can!!!!

I had lost almost 150 pounds…Yep!…all by myself without medical intervention.

I was not going to let anyone tell me it could not be done much less how to do it.  I surprised everyone with the weight I lost.  It took me 3 and 1/2 years but I did it…from a size 3X-4X to a size 12.  Then I fell and hurt myself and the series of events began flooding my life with interruptions.  I could not go walking and the weight began coming back.  The good news is that I have maintain a level and am still way smaller than I used to be.  “I am very proud of myself for this achievement!”  But I am also aware of the gain and it had begun to bring on a depressing spirit.  “NO!”  It was time to get back to the basics.

The original reason for the weight loss was the diagnosis of Diabetes.  I am part of a family who, for the most part, all have blood pressure issues and Diabetes.  Weight loss has always been a problem in my family, except for my brother.  It has been a long standing joke that he only had to say he was going to exercise and the weight would flee.  He was always very active and his lifestyle embraced activity.  I immediately began cutting the Carbs and Sugars in my diet.  I lessened the portions and how I ate certain foods.  The weight began slowly coming off and I could see and feel the difference.  I began walking and had gotten up to 3-4 miles a day for 4 times a week.  “I love walking!”  I had some great tunes and would just go…in my own little zone.

I had planned to start walking this week only to have rain all week keep me from this task.  There is always next week and the forecast is clear.  “YES!”  I went and bought salad makings and snackies.  “Know your limits!”  I count the carbs and sugars and put things back on the shelf refusing to bend.  “I can do this!”  I have already seen a difference.  My rings are beginning to jingle on my finger and I can reach around my wrist again with overlap of my fingers.  Two weeks ago it was finger tip to finger tip.  I know this may sound like a silly way to judge weight loss but every little bit helps motivate.  I have increased my water intake to the point of spending more time in the bathroom.  The walking and running to the nearest bathroom can be treacherous but the motion involved in finding the bathroom is good. “HEHE!”

The next step was to rid myself of the several temptations that were still in the house from the holidays.  “I love to bake!”  I sold many pies and cakes and made fudge, sold by the pound, during the Thanksgiving and Christmas Seasons.  I had made a 3-layer Red Velvet Cake for our Christmas and two Chocolate Chip Pecan Pies and about 4 pounds of fudge.  Before you get the wrong idea….the fudge recipe used fat free sweetened condensed milk and dark chocolate.  My sugar levels, being monitored by my doctor during the first year of diagnosis, were found to be normal even when eating almost a pound in a week.  He also found that I had even lost weight during that week.  “Not much but there was loss.”  Back to ridding myself of temptations….I threw everything into the garbage can, with a ceremonial “Out you go…no more for me” spoken with with item added, and washed the dishes.  No more pie…no more fudge…Christmas candy gone…Christmas cookies gone…No temptation!

Wednesday I had about 530 calories and yesterday I had about 740.  I sure wish this was going to be easy…but I can rest assured that it will be easier than before.  I only want to lose 45 pounds!!!! and that is much easier than the original 100+.  If the family is having food that I should not….I will fix a patty or chicken with salad.  I will live with the growling belly of desire and overcome!  The clothes that used to fit loosely, that are now tight and binding, will be loose again.  I had the opportunity to buy a lovely sweater jacket last night at Bass Pro and put it back on the rack.  My husband told me to get it…I smiled and said it would be a waste of $$$ money$$$ because I will not be that size for long.  He smiled back, as if to challenge me, and said “I know!”

Cuz, you remember the before and after…and you were a motivational influence for me.  That influence is still a part of my dedication to this path.  Thank you for your unspoken guidance and non-judgmental love during this season of my life.  I look forward to another trip to that delightful store, that I cannot speak of in the house of young men, to buy more “Pink”.  “They will not even watch the commercials with me in the room.”  I sure wish we could walk together but the distance between us and schedules keep us apart.  I will make sure to diet healthy and get an accountability network in place.  This will guarantee that I will succeed safely.  I cannot be like the models or actors on TV because I did not have that type of body to begin with.  I know my limitations and am happy with that.  So here is to getting “Back to Basics with my Diet!”  I am sooooo ready!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on January 13, 2012, in About me, cooking, Just Between Cousins, musings, my life, recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Praying for you! You know where you get your strength from! I’ll be cheering you on!

Leave a Reply

