Peach State says: I’m Tired

“I’m tired….Tired of being tired!”  These are lyrics from a little diddy in the movie “Blazing Saddles”.  A famous showgirl/performer has arrived in town and this is the first song she sings.  The words resonate in my head over and over again.

My husband got a little upset with me last night because I was yawning.  “Don’t laugh!”  It was very late for me…midnight is past my bedtime.  My day starts very early and “Well, you know how it is!” naps don’t fit into the schedule.  I have a tendency to overwork myself and not take care of myself.  Everyone else takes precedent and then you add my schedule and obligations and I run out of time.  He knows that something is wrong but does not know what it is.  He wants me to let some things go from my schedule and does not see why I take on so much.  I could say the same about him…He just doesn’t see it!

Before you offer me a little cheese with my “whine” let me say this is not a pity party.  I know this is normal!  It is a form of growing pains and we must learn to adapt.  I used to laugh at my parents for the naps they would take during the day.  “Not now!”  The old saying tells us “Early to bed..early to rise”  is the way to function.  “We don’t listen!”  We are capable and strong…we don’t need to go to bed early if we need to get up early.  “I find myself chuckling at that statement.”

I heard the increased sound of cracking in my sinuses this morning and with the stiffness in my neck and shoulders I reached for my Benadryl…sadly this will put me to sleep for a little while.  “I will have to set my alarm though.”  Things to do and appointments to keep…well, my husband has appointments and I am going with him.  He declared it “Alone Time” seeings how we never get any just by ourselves.  “I wish he could have planned different activities!”  We have a visit to the VA for a doctor’s appointment then to the local Bass Pro to spend his Christmas present.  Yep…alone time…I think I will take a book!

Wonder Woman is shedding her persona and facing reality…It is harder to get into the invisible jet these days!  I need to slow down and let my sons do what they are supposed to do and not do it for them.  I need to put myself in time-out more often for a well deserved break.  I am mom and mom will still continue to do many things…just at a relaxed, casual pace.  I struggle with this because I do not want to be seen as lazy or uncaring.  I had to say “NO” to someone yesterday and that broke my heart. In the 26 years of marriage, my husbands days off are sacred, and I have unavailable to spend time with him about five times.  They were important reasons…one was my birthday celebration with friends and we did lunch…one was the surgery of my BFF’s little girl…one was a doctor’s appointment for me.  “I was not gone all day!”

My husband cherishes his family time and that is a quality I find annoying at times.  He wants his family around him every time he is home and no one else.  “No social butterflies allowed in this house.”  He used to be a “Social Butterfly” but changed in his recent years.  “I’m Tired!”

The Benadryl is starting to take its course and I am needing to close.  “I am a real wuss when it comes to Benadryl.”  I know that I must adapt and find time for me.  I must face the fact that there are limitations and that I am not alone in having to slow down.  I can still accomplish everything but the timing just has to be altered.  If anyone can do this…”I Can!” Is it too late to make a New Year’s Resolution?

Looking for suggestions and feedback that I am not weak. I do not want to be “Tired..Tired of Being Tired!”

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on January 12, 2012, in About me, Just Between Cousins, musings, my life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Okay, I’m commenting again, but remember…you asked for it! LOL! I have always been like you, busy, busy, busy. I have at times had to cut back due to health issues, and caring for sick family members. I found that every time one of those seasons passed, I was not able to go back to the pace I kept previously.

    The year 2010 became very hectic. Between family obligations, and too much commitment elsewhere, I over did it. In February 2011, after fasting and prayer, I changed a lot of that. I was clear on some things that had become muddled, and made the appropriate changes.

    I am now in the process of gathering and filing 2011’s receipts, tax stuff, etc., and doing a little “spring cleaning” in my house. I know, it’s winter. But, I already feel a little more sense of relief, and not quite so bogged down. Even though I struggled this year because I got so behind in everything in 2010, I prioritized and lightened my load in 2011! I have missed some things, but not others. I think the distance has given me a new and clearer perspective.

    You are not weak! As we get older, we don’t keep up like we once did, but that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t keep up at all. I found myself overwhelmed. If you are feeling overwhelmed, then changes do need to be made. I would suggest some type of fast, and prayer specifically for this! But, if you don’t feel overwhelmed, then I would say, “More power to you!”

    I hope you feel better when you wake up from your Benedryl coma!

Leave a Reply

