Peach State says: Rainy Days are Wonderful Days!

Do the best you can with what you have been given!

Here we are! Another rain soaked day is just outside my window.  There is a thick layer of a ghostly fog floating against the brown grass in my yard.  The flag moves gently, in the slight breeze,  shaking the tiny rain drops from their resting spot.  The cars splash by on their daily course leaving tread marks against the wet asphalt.  “Rainy Days are Wonderful Days!

I am not crazy to feel this way…I am relieved to have this scene in January.  It beats the sun shinning brightly and the temperature in the 60-70 range.  The rainy, foggy day gives the onlooker the wintry feel and the opportunity to excuse yourself from outside activities.  I was going to walk the track at the park close by but, I should stay home and catch up on household duties.  This is a perfect day to put on my music, of choice, and whisk through the house making the best of what time I have.  There are times where a book and a blanket are all I need on days like this.  “Not today!”  I am sure I will find things to fill my time…the refrigerator needs my attention and the counter-tops could be cleaned and sealed again.  The little jobs that always get over looked are the ones I have in mind to complete today.   “Rainy Days are Wonderful Days!

Henry Wadsworth Longfellow wrote a lovely poem called “The Rainy Day”.  He talks of the dreary nature of rainy days and how it tears the soul, draining cheerfulness from the weary heart.  He then brings it back, in sermon like tone, and says [“Be still sad heart and cease repining.  Behind the clouds is the sun still shinning.  Thy fate is the common fate of all.  Into each life some rain must fall.”]  The sun is still shinning and will shine again soon.  Till this happens I will make the best use of what I have.  Make it a good day and it will be a good day. Why let the rainy, dreary day drag me down to the depths.  I am able to enjoy every day!

Rainy Days are Wonderful Days!”  Enjoy this time of solitude and silence.  Make it a special day, not bothered with a hurried and sloppy journey.  Take time for self!  “I will start with another lovely latte’…after I iron my son’s pants for his job interview.”  What?  I am a loving and nurturing mom…and he has not figured out how to iron correctly yet!  HEHE!

Staying Dry!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on January 10, 2012, in About me, Just Between Cousins, literature, musings, my life, parenting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This rainy day has made me too sleepy to comment…

Leave a Reply

