Heart of Dixie says . . . War Eagle anyway

OUCH!

That was a whole new level of pain.  And I’m not talking about the football game or the forthcoming year of torture among a sea of rabid recknecks.

My very good friend is a massage theapist.  She worked on my neck last night until the knots just melted away.  I could move without pain.  I cried I was so happy.

Then the pain came back.  With a vengeance.  I cried again.  To top it off my roomie had invited Alabama fans (Alabama fans!) to watch the game at our house.

It become unbearable – the pain, I mean.  Well, the football, too.  So I left.  Came to a quiet place.  The serenity felt better, but the pain was only worse.

Ever notice how pain gets worse when you feel safe to show it?  When you take the happy friendly face off and let your guard down?  Of maybe that doesn’t happen to you.

I’ve had pain before.  Goodness knows.  But this neck thing is nearly intolerable.  Knees and ankles just cannot compare.  I think I understand how people get hooked on drugs.

Well anyway, I was wondering if sometimes things get worse before they get better.  I was wondering if I should keep at the massage.  At least there was a change.  Lord knows our bodies don’t like change.  Maybe it’s rebelling against something that is good for it.

For now, I hope I can hold it together enough today to think clearly and write quickly about stuff I simply do not understand.

War Eagle anyway (yes, I know Auburn didn’t play, but I’m also for anybody who plays Alabama, especially in a championship game).  War Eagle, and here’s to a new day.

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on January 10, 2012, in About me, Auburn, Just Between Cousins, my life, pain. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I sympathize with the neck pain you are experiencing. Have you tried something simple like Excedrin Back and Body to help lessen the agony? Speaking of agony….The game was not even watched here. Why bother? There were better things to watch! Back to the neck pain…We have to realize that we are not in our 20’s anymore. We go along and put so much weight on our shoulders and forget to stop taking so much on in our daily rush around. I have been having an irritating and painful stiffness in my right arm. Yet, every time I am around my little girls, three little girls that are my BFF’s, I am holding them and carrying them while continuing on with my normal activities. OUCH! It hurts to pick up my coffee cup and hold it to drink. This is not good!!! Maybe we should go back and read the manual on how our bodies will change…Wait, where did I put that manual? Oh yeah…I never got one…did you? I hope your pain will subside and allow you to feel better soon. Love you!!!
    Peach State.

  2. I love that “sea of rabid redneck” phrase! I’m definitely going to use that one! Billy and I went to my daughter’s house to watch the game Sunday afternoon. I really had no interest in the game; I just wanted to play with my grandson! He was so cute and playful! A few other often “rabid rednecks” were supposed to be there, but cancelled at the last minute. My daughter is chief among them! She is just like her father, yelling and cursing at the TV! She also plays that fantasy football on the computer. God made her tiny for a reason…a very good one!

    I used to watch football, many years ago. But I must admit that I think highschoolI football is the most exciting. I think it’s because it is still a game, and not a career! I once followed the Atlanta Falcons and the Dallas Cowboys. Eventually, it got old…same ol’, same ol’! I find it difficult to reconcile the image of these normally rational and responsible adults with what I see during any sports event they follow! I decided that it really wasn’t that important. After all, it’s just a game…isn’t it?

    I know what you mean about pain getting worse when you can show it! It’s like when you’ve been sick for a long time, and you finally get a diagnosis. Suddenly, your lack of ability to keep up with things is justified! To quote me, “Will you go over there and get that for me?” Then adding a very pained expression, “I’m anemic…”

    I am so sorry about your neck pain! I hope you find some lasting relief soon! I will be praying for you!

  3. Thank you so much. Today, I pre-excused myself to my boss b/c I could hardly move, but then by 10ish I was feeling pretty good. Maybe that massage did some good after all.

    Rabid recknecks are awful!!!! It’s going to be a long year. Thanks for the prayers.

Leave a Reply

