Peach State says: Oops! I did it again!

When do we leave?

There is was right there in front of me…taunting me with desire.  I pressed the button and….this has been added to items to record.

Oops! I did it again!

I had recorded a movie that I already own but who cares…it was Mama Mia!  So this morning, after my youngest left for school, I settled in with all the needed supplies.  My coffee, of course, was by my side and the remote in hand.  Power on and list displayed…there you are.  PLAY!  I sat back with memories flooding my mind of the last time I watched this movie.  Do you remember?  I know you do!  We were so excited to be together for the weekend and this movie was the icing on the cake.  We sang along, as if we were part of the cast, every lyric and rhyme.  We even danced, hopping and spinning in my living room.  My youngest son was in the room with us and was unprepared for this experience.  What were we to do?  Sit there quietly and tap a foot!! “Nope”  That would have been impossible for us…I don’t know of anyone who could sit still during this movie.

So…with the movie starting…I anticipated the first song.  I have seen this movie many times and am drawn into it every time.  I confess!  I want to be on a Greek Island living in a villa.  I would like to see a group of men dancing and Cabana boys singing.  The sun shining down on the beautiful beaches….Reality sinks in and I remember where I am.  At least the mother and daughter have conflicts and there are money issues.  The villa is in need of repair and everything is falling apart…Now this sounds like my house!  I can face most anything…just hand me the roll of Duct Tape and I am ready.  I am the mother of four boys and have been married for 25+ years.  Needless to say this type of movie is not viewed by the family.  It is my alone time…time just for me…my Spa time!  “It is a good thing I like a wide variety of movies and actors.  I would not get to spend time with my family if I didn’t”

The movie ends and I have turned off the TV.  It is almost time to wake up the rest of the house.  One son is job hunting today and my husband is off.  I will have to make this quick.  I do miss our time together and the next time we see each other you can bet this movie will be part of the schedule.  Till that day comes; I will treasure the memories I have and gracefully open my beautiful wrap, from around my shoulders, and dance into the kitchen to make coffee.  Oh wait, I better not do that…I might knock something over or hurt myself.  ” I don’t want that to happen again!” But that was not me…was it?

Have a great day!

D.L.

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on January 5, 2012, in About me, Just Between Cousins, music, musings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Didn’t that movie and subsequent dancing and exercising cause me to tear a meniscus?

Leave a Reply

