Peach State says: Me Focused; You Must Be Kidding!

Remain calm, breathe, breathe again....I love lists!

I asked a dear friend what I should write about this morning and her response was this: “I have so many things going through my mind everyday that I’d never be able to focus on one…must be nice to be able to FOCUS!”  I responded with “Where is the fun in that?…“Me Focused… you must be kidding?” She responded “You seem to be…that should tell you how bad off I am…”  Thank you, my dear friend, for my topic today!

I gain points, with those around me, everyday when it comes to multitasking.  I have an incredible ability to do many things at once, while scheduling others and running around with my head cut off, with grace and focus.  I may function as the Ringmaster in a 3-ring Circus but sometimes feel like the ridiculous group of clowns.  All of the clowns are going in different directions and never seem stop the action they find themselves involved in.  One is trying to get another dressed and another is washing dishes with a hose pipe and sprays everything in its path.  Another is trying to drive a car while others can’t decide if they are getting in or out of the car.  MASS CHAOS!

“Me Focused…you must be kidding?”  I do love ordered chaos and thrive in it…I have spoken about that before.  To be seen as successful and focused means that I may have actually been able to pull the proverbial wool over someone else’s  eyes.  Enough of the flag waving and banner raising.  I only do what I can daily with a unique prospective.  I clean, and do the laundry, plan and prepare dinner, coordinate schedules and transportation requirements, while nurturing the family I love.  “See that is not that much!”  I also find myself in the unpaid assistant role for a friend of mine to keep him focused.  [Those of you reading this that know who I am referring to can stop laughing now!] I am one of the Music Librarians for our music program at church and on the Music Leadership Committee.  I am the Alto alternate for Praise Teams which means I am singing 3 out  four weeks a month with the practices thrown in to the schedule.  Thank goodness I love to make lists.

“Me Focused…you must be kidding?”  I make list everyday and am fortunate to have “The Cloud” which copies a list on one of my devices to the others as well.  I can make a list on my iPhone and it will show up on my iPad.  “I love technology.”  Reminders are set to remind me and the dings and various chimes go off all day long.  Print words…find this song….this is for dinner…thaw the meat….bake the bread…move the laundry…pick up the dry cleaning… All day long!!!  I love being busy…REALLY!  It makes me feel like I am actually a part of something and needed…”Did I say that out loud?”  Yes that is my weakness…I need to be needed and I can be very insecure.  The unsaid appreciation and the quiet moan during dinner are my thanks.  The fact that I know where things are located before someone needs them and receive a verbal thanks is high praise.  This is the way I survive…quietly buzzing like a hive of worker bees…weaving in and out through my mundane, love filled existence.  “I am needed and wanted!”  I am SECURE!!!

“Me Focused…you must be kidding?” So, to my friend,  I say thank you for saying that I am focused.  I appreciate all you do and the time you spend with me during my scheduled filled days.  This gives me a chance to visit and plan at the same time.  “I do love my iPhone.”  Texting and messaging in two different locations while checking my e-mails and planning my day; all while talking with a friend.  “Who would not want to do this?”  I really enjoy my fast, activity filled, frantic, schedule driven, life!!!!  I will take this compliment and smile as I complete another task on the reminder list.  What is next…make another coffee!  “I had to sneak that in!”  See you the next time!

D.L.

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on January 4, 2012, in About me, Just Between Cousins, music, musings, my life, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Well, first let me say that I am flattered that you call me a “dear” friend! Yay! That makes my morning…and ditto! There was a time time I could multitask with some measure of focus, but probably very little grace! Ha! Life does seem chaotic way more than it should be, and I just find myself needing things to calm down a bit more.

    I, like you, like being busy. But what I have come to cherish more is the energy to be busy. Migraines and the medicine for them are the number one culprits, but I think it has stolen a little of my drive. I find that I have to concentrate harder, or maybe I’m just not as able to concentrate on as many things at once. Sometimes I feel like I’m going backwards; and with my already lacking sense of direction, that is definitely NOT a good thing! They should come up with a Google or Bing map for that; then maybe I’d appreciate technology even more! I have been making lists for years now to help me. I don’t do it everyday, but I’m slowly getting there.

    I guess everyone wants to be needed and wanted. And that is a good thing, I think. As long as it is kept in balance with taking care of yourself, and doing things you enjoy just for you. I think that is especially a part of being a wife and a mother. Our families depend on us in certain ways. It’s a role that only we can fill! We love our families in ways that no one else can! Most of us have a sacrificial nature. We would give up everything for our families. So, I think a little appreciation, and some acknowledgement is in order!

    I too, enjoy our time together, blogging, texting, singing, etc! I think friends are a special gift from God, and I am thankful for our friendship!

    Okay, your blogs make me think…and that is a painful process, even after a cup of half-caff! I am considering talking to my doctor about my lack of focus. She will probably wonder what took me so long…

Leave a Reply

