Peach State says: Boy do I have a Recipe for you!

Dinner is served!

I often get phone calls from friends while I am fixing dinner.  They hear the chopping or blending and their interests is peaked.  “What are you making for dinner?”  “I don’t know what to have for dinner.” or “What is something I could make quickly?”

“Boy do I have a Recipe for you!”

I have crock-pot meals that take about 20 minutes to put together and then they cook all day so they are ready for you at dinner time.  I have wonderful ways to prepare ground beef that makes you forget you had ground beef the night before.  I have changed the method of preparation for fancy meals and side dishes so that the cook has time to relax.  The shortcuts in the kitchen are a specialty that I enjoy on a daily basis.  No more cutting up potatoes and carrots for Beef Stew….use the canned carrots and those wonderful, already cut up, potatoes in the freezer section.  I do, however, still make the gravy the old-fashioned way….it is the best!

“Boy do I have a Recipe for you!”

Some of these changes were natural due to the items now available in the store.  Most of the changes were due to being diagnosed with Diabetes a few years ago.  I will not eat food unless it looks and tastes good… “Will you?”  Some of the recipes given to me by the doctor’s office and those websites online for Diabetes and dieting looked awful or did not fit my specifications.  Before I go any further I need to tell you that I did lose a lot of weight.  I cut, to the core, my intake of carbs and sugars.  “I really need to start that back up!”  The Weight Watchers Diabetes food was higher in sugars and carbs for my standards and there were “Mushrooms”.  I hate “Mushrooms”!  I took from the recipes my mom had been using for her Diabetes and adapted them to fit my needs.  I had to prepare food that my family would eat.  For example:  The are having hamburgers and fries….I will have a patty with a salad…now I will have 8-10 sweet potato fries instead of the salad.  I cut my portions down as well and often had a growling stomach after dinner.  I counted and used the smallest dishes for my food.  I found a recipe for fudge and altered it so that I could have some.  I must have had about two pounds during that first Christmas and when I went to the doctor he noticed my blood  sugar was normal and weight was down.  I told him about the fudge and he wanted to know my recipe.

“Boy do I have a Recipe for you!”

MY FUDGE

Fat Free Sweetened Condensed Milk (1 small can)

Chocolate Chips (3 cups)

vanilla (1 TBS)

Place the sweetened condensed milk in a microwave bowl with the chocolate chips and microwave for 1 minute and stir. Place the bowl back in the microwave for an additional 30 seconds to a minute until smooth.  Stir in the vanilla and place in flat square dish and chill.  Cut to the desired bite sized morsel.  Makes two pounds.

I have two friends that read this blog who love my fudge and “OOOPS”…the cat is out of the bag.  “I told them it was easy!”  I have recently started baking pies and cakes to sale and have been asked about those recipes.  “Let me think about that for a moment.”  If I give you my recipe then you will be able to make your own and I will be out of a job.  I have one friend that recently ordered a Red Velvet Cake (Three layer) for her husband.  She asked me about my recipe and with all of my grinning and evading of the question she suddenly assumed that I used a mix…..I quickly told her “NO!”  and told her that if I gave it to her she would not need my baking talents anymore.  She laughed and said “You still make the best fudge!”  She realizes that time is a big factor for her and that, with small children, it would not be an option for her at this time to bake a 3-layer Red Velvet Cake.  “Maybe I will give her the recipe later.”

I loved watching my mother and father cook.  My dad was not afraid to try new things or try to duplicate a dish he enjoyed at a restaurant. My grandmother, on my dad’s side, had cookbooks with notes on her changes for many of the recipes.  “I have one of those books.”  She was a cook who would throw this and that in and stir and add this and that and flavor…”MMMM! That’ll do”.  She had a favorite recipe for dessert called a Jelly-roll and had the process down to a science.  “I always wondered if it was a Jelly-roll then where was the jelly.”  She used a marshmallow cream filling in the center of the dark chocolate cake.  It was soooo rich!  “I’ll stick with my fudge.”

I have found myself in a role of the nurturing older friend who helps the younger friend who does not cook.  She is another who would ask me how I cook my dinner.  Her main concern is time.  “I will use Wednesday as an example.”  Wednesdays are complicated because so many of my friends, and I, have church and choir practice.  My youngest child gets off the bus at 3:55 every afternoon. I am heading to church at 5:15….”Plan ahead!”  Crock pot meals are great for this day.  I can prepare the meal in the morning and as they say on the “Infomercial” Fix it and Forget it.  Dinner is 99% done when my youngest walks in the door on Wednesdays.  I will jump in the shower and then eat a little before heading out the door.  I have two other sons who go to another church on Wednesdays and they have to be there by 6….Everyone eats and there is time to clean up before charging off to our different churches. My favorite, and easiest, Wednesday night recipe is:

Crock Pot Enchiladas

Tortilla Shells

Meat of your choice (I usually make Chicken Enchiladas and canned chicken can be used.  Prepare your meat by par-boiling the chicken and pulling it apart or browning your ground beef)

Cheese (Grated in bags)

Enchilada Sauce (2 standard cans)

Layer, in Lasagna style, beginning with Tortilla Shell and fill the crock pot.  I start with shell, meat, shell cheese, sauce, shell, meat…..you see the pattern.  Place the top Tortilla shell on top and cover with cheese.  Pour the remaining Enchilada sauce on top.  Cover and let cook for at least 4 hours.

Black beans, corn, or refried beans are great additions to this dish.  Serve with a spoon full of Sour Cream and garnish with Green Onions. You can serve it with a salad and cornbread.

Easy clean up is also part of this meal especially when using paper plates.

Now I will go about my day…secure in the fact that someone out there will benefit from these two recipes.  If you have a great Crock pot recipe please send it my way….I am always in the market for easy and tasty meals…”Who isn’t?”

Have a great day!

D.L.

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on January 3, 2012, in About me, cooking, Diet, Just Between Cousins, my life, recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Wow! That is an easy fudge recipe! And it was delicious! I’m still going to have you make it for me next year…only I’ll pay you instead of whine my way into it! LOL! The pecan pies were very good as well. I have a good pecan pie recipe, but as you know, I don’t want my diabetic husband to have to smell them cooking, so you will be making those as well. I am very thankful for your cooking skills!
    I’m going to have to try that Crockpot Enchiladas recipe. As complex carbs run Billy’s blood sugar up, I will use whole wheat tortillas, which are also 99% fat free. Since we both had to forgo the purchase and use of our cholesterol meds, I have to concern myself with fat content as well. He takes fish oil and a baby aspirin every night; me, I just eat more fish! My levels were not as high as his. Billy also has high blood pressure, so I have to watch salt content as well. I have had to battle with him for certain changes, but it is worth it! I want him around for as long as I’m here!
    I won’t sacrifice certain things. Our bodies need some of all of the things we cut back on. Cutting back is the key. I will not use a lot of fat free products, opting instead for the more tasty reduced fat product! Yum-my! I will also usually cut down on my portions of things like reduced fat sour cream, or reduced fat cream cheese. I want to enjoy my food, but often, I go overboard on the chocolate treats. I guess we all have our dietary struggles!
    Thanks for the new recipes!

    • We really need to get out of the same boat. Lol. I am glad I could help with the cooking. I will more than happy to make fudge that you will pay for next time. Let me know how you like the Enchilada recipe!!!

  2. D.L., Dutchie had a similar recipe book that is delightful. On the divinity recipe there are notes scrawled in her barely legible hand all over the whole thing. It’s smeared. Stuff is crossed out and re-worded. Then across the top, it says, “Just forget the whole thing!”

    We don’t know if that is in reference to her notes or to the idea of making divinity. Knowing Dutchie, it was the latter, but she made fabulous divinity, so we are confused. Mommy keeps threatening to frame it. I wish she would.

Leave a Reply

