Peach State says: Happy New Year! Really?

                                                                Here it is, December 31, 2011 and tomorrow will be a whole New Year.  2012!!!!

With all the promises we make to ourselves to lose weight, be kind to others, get a better job, find a job…it is amazing we have time to focus on the real issues at hand.   Our family, friends, church, and community need to be visualized in every New Year’s Resolution.  Don’t get me wrong….the resolutions listed, previously, could all be focused on those around us everyday.

My approach to life changed when I dropped over 100 pounds and I was told I had a different personality.  It was a good change for the most part and I was excited to be with people and found myself walking more.  I do get aggravated with myself because I have not lost anymore and have found that, even though I have plateaued, I did gain a few pounds back.  In my defense, I was sick and then I fell, both kept me from walking.  I recovered and the city was renovating the walking track where I walk.  I got depressed by these situations, and others that plagued my mere existence,  and the weight slowly crept back.  I do not have a vehicle to get to the track now because my husband uses it to drive back and forth to work.  I know what you are thinking,  walk when he gets home…. “I can’t!”  He leaves at 7:30 every morning and comes home about 8:00 every night.  Sometimes he doesn’t get home until closer to 10:00!  The friends that I have who walk live to far away or are unable to keep up with my pace.  I walked three times with a friend who was training for a 5K and participates in a exercise class twice a week.  I could not force myself to slow down to her pace.  I find a rhythm and move not socialize.  The strolling type of walking is not for me!  I love to put my headphones on and select the beat driven songs on my iTunes play-list.  I even downloaded some military cadences that I had started using to shuffle jog instead of just walking.  I know that I will start walking this next year and the weight will come off again.  I can’t wait!!!!

Facing our reality and making the best of it should be the universal New Year’s Resolution.  We would all win in the long-term!  We should be thankful for what we have and not regret what we never received or had.  I speak from experience when I say “My husband deserves more money from his employer!”  but…I can say “Yea! my husband is employed!!!! We went for close to four years with no income and insurance.  We are a stronger family unit because of this experience and have had many obstacles invade our ranks.  Baby steps, One Day at a Time, Put One Foot in Front of the Other….all good advice for the upcoming year.

We really have been very lucky and fortunate to have managed this trial the way we did.  Things could have been a lot worse.  People suffer daily and lose their homes and livelihood.  Sickness and death break families financially and emotionally.  We have stayed in our home and have managed to pay the bills.  My husband creatively paid off credit cards and lowered our monthly expenditures.  Needless to say, we will head into this New Year with less going out of our pocket and lessons learned on surviving with less $$$.  This is a very good start to our New Year.  We have had a few regrets and wish things could have been resolved quicker.  They had to be placed on the back burner to keep warm while constantly stirring the pot up front to stay afloat.  These decisions influence those around us in ways we may never know.  I have been fortunate to see and hear how my life had influenced those around me in a positive manner.  I strive daily to help others as they face their walk on hot coals.  Only by not focusing on ourselves do we see what life altering events are happening to those around us.  We can offer support and help in many ways.

Tonight we will countdown to a New Year and celebrate the possibilities that lie ahead of us.  Make this a year to remember!  Take time to help others and you will be helping yourself.  Celebrate time with family and friends and make memories to last a lifetime.  Time really does fly and this New Year will quickly be replaced by another New Year.  This New Year will be what we make it….so…..

Happy New Year!  REALLY!!!

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on December 31, 2011, in Just Between Cousins, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

