Heart of Dixie says . . . Now, how can I make that happen?

I was a the chiropractor’s office today (working on that pain in the neck), and I saw a sign he had hanging on the wall.  It said, “Nothing is stronger than a made-up mind.”

Now, I don’t know if it was intended as a reminder to be open minded to letting alternative forms of medicine heal our bodies or if it was meant as some other form of inspiration.  But I thought about it and about this last pair of jeans that I can fit into before getting down the fat box for real.  I need a made-up mind.

I suppose all addictions need made-up minds. They need something else, too, though. Ever heard of a dry drunk? That’s just a drunk with a made-up mind and no internal changes.  Many times he or she is much worse than the actual drunk. Is this why I lose weight and gain it and lose it and gain it? Is it because I don’t have a made up mind or because I have one for a time but that’s all it was.  A human mind.

I ponder all of these things having eaten an old and not very satisfying brownie and while snacking on cheese its.  Clearly, I have neither a made-up mind nor a spiritual truth on which to base this decision.  Something I do have a collection of little black dresses in sizes 8, 10, 12, and 14. I have pants & skirts in 6, 8, 10, and 14.  I am a woman of many minds.

I don’t think the made up mind is the ending and the answer.  Nor do I believe it to be the ultimate in strength, but I do believe it is a good place to begin.  I wonder how one achieved this esoteric goal or if it comes along with the “doing” of something.

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on December 30, 2011, in Just Between Cousins, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

