Peach State says: I am Thankful for GPS

Turn left in .2 miles then prepare to take the next right.  You have arrived at your destination!

I was on a mission early yesterday that took me to the other side of Atlanta.  I was headed to Emory/Egleston Children’s Hospital to be with my dear friends while the first procedure was done on their 6 year old daughter.  I had familiarized myself with the directions on the map app on my phone and followed the various and sometimes confusing turns that took me from the familiar Atlanta Interstate system.  The houses and quaint businesses were lining the streets and I probably looked like a deer standing in the headlights.  Relief flooded over me when I saw a blue square sign with a capital H.  There was a hospital in here and I am going the right way.

I took the last required turn and followed the signs for parking.  After driving around and around and around to find a parking spot I met with success and parked.  I gathered my wits and the items for survival that I had brought for my friends.  Pressed the button on the key….beep, beep.  Off I went into the maze of buildings in the large Medical Complex.  I was settled in with the family, after visiting and playing countless games of Connect Four with their daughter, and found myself pondering my return trip home.  Reaching for my phone I opened the map app and reversed the directions.  “Okay” I thought, “I am ready and will be able to get back to the interstate.”  I focused on the task at hand.

Anyone who knows Atlanta traffic knows the traffic flow is worse after 4 in the afternoon, when traveling north.  I looked at my watch and cringed.  I said my goodbyes and gave my hugs after hearing the results of the first procedure.  I strolled out of the door of the waiting room and picked up the pace.  It was after 4PM.  We had been in several buildings and I had to find the parking complex first.  In my car I prepared to leave and looked up at the empty GPS holder on the windshield.  Excitement tingled through my body as I reached for the little black box and attached it to the holder.  Turning it on I pressed the little button…”Where would you like to go?”… Home!  “Calculating”.  I know what you are thinking…I did not use this GPS device to give me directions to the hospital because I did not want to mess up the settings already set by my husband.  I did know that it could get me home!  It took me out the same way I came in until “Turn right and take the very next left”  I didn’t come this way.  I followed the directions and moved at a decent pace through areas of Atlanta I have never had the chance to see.  I even drove by the Govenor’s Mansion.  I finally received the direction to turn right and merge onto Interstate 75.  Wow…I bypassed Interstate 85 completely.  I was home free!

Today I am headed to another hospital, in a different location north of Atlanta, to be with the same family during the major surgery for the same child.  I am taking my son’s big truck and he has a GPS, phone, app playing stereo unit.  He is such a techno-geek!  He will set it up for me in a little while before I head out.  I looked at the directions to this second hospital last night and it looks a lot easier than yesterday.

I was raised to read a map and to read signs.  I drove to Washington State from Georgia and felt solace in the highway and interstate signs.  I know I can get where I need to be but I am thankful for GPS….It

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on December 30, 2011, in Just Between Cousins and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

