Heart of Dixie says . . . Please pardon my pain in the neck

I have a pain in the neck.  I might also be a pain in the neck.  It’s hard to tell.  I know that when I have my pain in the neck, I have a hard time with life, particularly with being cheerful and fighting off depression.  Sometimes my pain in the neck feels as mean as this lovely creature.  And sometimes I am able to ignore it altogether.

My pain in the neck is not a person or a dog or even a place.  My pain in the neck is pain – in my neck. It first started when I took Funny Girl to college. This required a night in a hotel room.  A night after which I woke up with a pain in my neck. It didn’t go away all day.  Or the day after that.  Or the day after that.  This was back in August. Sigh.

I went to the doctor, who gave me drugs.  I went to the physical therapist who gave me such pain in the neck that I had to take to bed each time I saw her.  I bought horse medicine that smells like a paper mill, but seems to help.

The day after Christmas, I was nearly in tears.   (This is the same day I posted the grumpy post.) I figure the pain is worse when I am social, like on Christmas.  When I keep my head pointed straight at the computer at work, it’s better.  When I look around and have conversations with people, it’s much worse.  While I don’t feel like becoming a recluse, I have decided that after Christmas pain and then trip to Atlanta pain and then impromptu teenage game night last night pain, I cannot go to my aunt’s for New Year’s Eve if I am going to be able to go to work next week.

So I went to the chiropractor yesterday and will go again tomorrow. I will call my aunt and give my sincerest apologies.  I will stay home today and quietly sort out the disaster on my desk and iron my clothes so that I feel orderly (eliminating one pain in the neck anyway).  But I’m kind of sad. After waiting for my girls to come home from Virginia, they finally get here and I find myself taking to bed.  Oh well. Life’s like that sometimes.  Anyway, I will try to quit being a pain in the neck to any readers out there.

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on December 29, 2011, in Just Between Cousins, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thanks on your marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it, you could be a great author.
    I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and will often come back in the foreseeable future.
    I want to encourage that you continue your great job, have a nice
    day!

    • I appreciate you kind words. I do love to write and have started writing a book! Of course it keeps growing!
      Come back anytime!
      Peach State

    • Thank you so very much for you overflowing compliments. I do so love hearing how much people like my writing. I have a second book I am presently working on…it seems to keep going even though I thought I had finished it.
      Come back anytime and read away! You are always welcome!
      Peach State

Leave a Reply

