Peach State says: The modern inconvenience called the Internet

Turn on computer and wait! Mark all the appropriate boxes to clear off the screen

in preparation to start my day.  “Explorer has failed and is restarting!”  Down goes

the screen and then pops back up.  “Explorer has failed and is restarting!”  I don’t

like the pattern that is evolving. I turn off my computer and hope the message,

filling me with frustration, will not return.  So far so good then, with bells and

warning lights come the pop-up.  “Explorer has failed and is restarting!” What did I

do to deserve this so early in the morning?  I try all the techniques and secrets my

son has taught me to no avail.  “I quit!”  I say in my head. I don’t want to wake

those sleeping upstairs.  I turn my computer off again and reach for my  trusted

iPhone.  My faithful friend brings up the pages I seek and I quickly maneuver

through them, aware of the time lost while fighting with my PC.

I feel scattered and out of sorts, not being able to do those little  tasks, and begin

my day behind schedule.  “Has this ever happened to you?”   Why do we find it a

pivotal  part of our day and when this happens we see the  billboard size

neon sign blinking [EPIC FAIL].

This inconvenience slows me down and without it I can’t  access my

book or my blog. “Do you know how long it is taking me to type this using

using my phone?”.  Well, I am a creature of habit and things must be done.

I was busy yesterday and could not blog.  My day was off ever so slightly.

“I will succeed and overcome this tragedy, thrust upon my very being, and

write.”  We lived our lives and thrived without the Internet for a long time. Why

can’t I now.

“Really got caught up in the moment and forgot I am enjoying the use of this

“Inconvenience” while blogging on my phone.  Things we take for granted!

With this said I will move on to the next task. “Who knows, my son may find the

straw  that broke my camel’s back  today  and I will write you again. “Till then

have a great day and surf without me!”

Angry Birds here I come!

D. L.

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on December 27, 2011, in Just Between Cousins and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I know what you mean. I start my day with my coffee and my computer. I also had trouble this morning. Couldn’t get my banking account to open, and since I showed a balance of only 30-something dollars, I needed to check my account! C-clean, shut-down…still it took forever, but I finally accomplished that task.

    I also wonder why I can’t get along without the comupter now. I guess we human beings were made to adapt more easily and quickly to some things. I talked to a young woman the other day who told me that she is “against computers.” I said, “Well you are on facebook, aren’t you?” “Yes, but I use it from my phone,” she replied! I told her that she was like a meat-eater who is morally opposed to hunting!

    I often wonder if I should just keep my big mouth shut…

    • How funny! She did not equate her being on Facebook, while using her phone, as be on a computer. She must be using the newer model which uses Hampsters. I feel sorry for those tiny animals running viciously around in circles.

Leave a Reply

