Peach State says: Today is the Day!

Cinderella would feel at home with my list of “Must Do’s” scheduled for today.  It has finally arrived, “Today is the Day!”

You know, by now, that I am one of those that prepares big meals in advance to lessen my kitchen time.  The casseroles will be made today along with the baking of most of the pies and cakes.  I already have the cookies for Santa made, and in the freezer, awaiting the decorations tomorrow.  I have an extra practice tomorrow, Christmas Eve, before the rest of the musicians arrive.  We are meeting at 12:30 pm and everyone else shows up at 1:30.  The first Christmas Eve Services will begin at 2:00 and the second one starts at 4:00.

I will arrive with gifts and the sweets ordered and deliver them to the appropriate parties.  On the list today I have 1 pie, orders of fudge and a Red Velvet Cake.  “Today is the Day!”  I think it would be wise to start with the cake first and make one for our family as well.just before taking them out to cool I will prepare the pies and have them ready to put in the oven when the cakes come out.  Then I will have the cooling and icing to do while the pies are cooking.  The fudge will be the last to do.  I will have to put it in the refrigerator and cut it later.

“I can’t help but think about the line from the movie “The Wedding Date” when the main characters arrive at the first of many parties and the mother tells her daughter to hydrate”.  So yes, the espresso will be made at the needed times.

In between the previous processes I will be preparing the various casseroles and fruit salads.  “I should hang a sign waring those here in the house to stay clear of the kitchen.  Which on should I use?” “Work Zone Ahead”, “Under Construction”, or “Expect Delays”.  I know it seems like I might be overwhelmed but quite the opposite.  I have the uncanny ability to function under chaos and find organization.   I have reminders on my phone for just this reason.  I am always making list to give me heads up for upcoming calendar events and to keep track of those close to me.  I cheerfully mark the item off when completed with a smile of accomplishment.  “Well done and no time for a pat on the back just yet”, “What is next on the list?”

Being this type of person I should let you know that I have already begun working on the items to be baked.  The crust is made and all ready for the pan, the cake pans are out and the cake boxes are made and ready to be filled.  The icing is prepared and in the refrigerator, “I need to pull it out and let is soften”, Wow, “Today is the Day!”  I sit here, giving you a peek into my little corner of the world, sipping on my Quad Venti Skinny Vanilla Latte’ and wait for my husband to leave.  I am hoping that I will be able to complete my shopping today which means I will have to receive something in the mail today.  “Please let it come today!”  I will need several more items for the snack for Christmas Eve.  I would really rather be at home, instead of at the store,  for the short time I have free tomorrow.

So, in the spirit of schedules I will proceed to the next item on my list.  LOL!  It is time to move the laundry!  Don’t forget I have

One down two to go!

all the other things I typically do in a day as well…. Have a great day and just in case I do not get the chance tomorrow…

Merry Christmas!

D.L.

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on December 23, 2011, in Just Between Cousins and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

