Peach State says: I’m Dreaming of a White Christmas- Welcome to Georgia

Snowfall over night last year

This time last year we had snow on the ground and high were in the 30’s.  This year the high Christmas Day will be in the mid 50’s and the low will be about 35.  Welcome to Georgia!  Thunderstorms are expected today and tomorrow as we reach into the high 60’s.  So much for a “White Christmas”!

I sit here and look out my office window to see overcast skies with a breeze blowing through the trees.  It looks cold outside but wait…this is Georgia…it is pleasant and spring like.  I have grown up knowing, that when it comes to weather in the south, tornadoes do not have a set time or season and we can have snow and ice in the spring.  There have been memorable White Christmases here and they are beautiful.  But, between you and me and the front porch, they can cause more bad than good.  People here in the south think they can drive in it…Nope!  The power can flicker and go out…”What good is a dark Christmas Tree?”  At least you can use the deck for a refrigerator!  That is until the sun comes out.

I lived in Washington State for years and had the opportunity to be in the snow.

I love snow and watching it is mesmerizing.  The varied sizes of the falling flakes provide for hours of entertainment.  The tree branches bow in respect as the snowflakes land gently among them. The clean, white covering hides the brown landscape and bare trees.  The Georgia Pine is frosted with a glistening fluff  creating a splendid view that thrills my very soul.

Driving in snow is a exciting, skill based activity that should force you to turn around and go home.  I really admire those who live in the snowy areas and commute in these treacherous conditions.  Living in Georgia I realize my limitations and prepare for the possibility of  power failures and no emergency trips to the store.  I have to face the fact that there will be no White Christmas for me this year.

So…something more realistic maybe… “I know!”

I’m Dreaming of a Cold Christmas!  A girl can dream can’t she!

D.L.

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on December 21, 2011, in Just Between Cousins and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Being a Georgia native, I can attest to the fact that you never know what you’ll get weatherwise at Christmas OR any other time! But it is true that Georgia is a most beautiful state! Especially our part of it! (Maybe I’m a little biased…he,he!)
    But, I must take issue with the comment that we think we can drive on “it”. Having lived here all my life, with the exception of a couple of years, I always heard that “Southerners don’t know how to drive in the snow! A few flakes fall, and they close down everything! Blah, blah, blah!” A few points about that…We usually get a mixture of all that cold stuff, and almost always, there is ICE in the mix! Then there is the so called “black ice.” All that makes the roads dangerous, and a lot of the wrecks (not all) are caused by people who have moved here from more “snowy” places, and THEY think they can drive on it! Of course, there is always the native Georgian who thinks, “Well, if they can do it, I can do it!” Which usually ends disastrously!
    Since we don’t typically get a lot of that kind of weather, we aren’t as prepared as other places, where they find it more cost effective not to close down. Big difference in closing down for a day or two and closing down for the whole winter season! Ice causes power outtages as well, so you can’t do most jobs without power anyway. Although, there are places such as hospitals and pharmacies, etc. who must stay opened regardless. That is another reason why it is so important that others stay off the roads in these conditions.
    One more point that has always confused me. I have heard that Southerners can’t drive in these kinds of conditions, but that in areas where this kind of weather is common, everyone is smart enough to figure it out. So…why do I see news reports of so many wrecks and pile ups during the winter storms in these areas…every year! And don’t say that it is Southerners trying to drive on those roads. I’ve seen too many of those involved interviewed to believe that. They are always so surprised that they were involved in the pile up!
    So, are you thinking, “Gee, it doesn’t take much to rile those Southerners!” ??? Well, I must confess, I love my friends from the North! I just need a little more sunshine and a little less precipitation! Apparently, many of you agree with me! Welcome to Georgia!
    That off my chest, I really do wish we could have more white Christmases! It just feels right to have snow on the ground and in the trees at Christmastime! Snow…not ice! Either way, I hope everyone has a Very Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

