Peach State says: Just Another Day in Paradise

The muscle wall around his heart were constricting…. If he feels pain in this area again come straight to the hospital….

“I’m sorry..What did you say?”

Hey cuz,  My whole body is in pain from being so tense last night.  Just Another Day in Paradise!! It started about 5:30 last night and Nick was being a real pill.  He had come down from his room and grabbed the Blood Pressure machine to check his BP.  It was elevated!  He finally told me that his chest was hurting and he was having a hard time breathing.  “Go lie down and I will call my friend, the Cardiac Nurse.”  It is always good planning to have, in your circle of friends, someone with a medical background. I just happen to have quite a few.  I called this particular one because she only lives two door down.  She recommended a trip to the ER!  With no insurance yet I did not see this as a starting destination.n  He progressively got worse and even cried when trying to breathe.  I finally decided to take him to the local fire department and go from there.

We pulled in and they immediately sprang into motion.  The call went out that a walk-in case needed a paramedic.  The blood pressure was taken and it was 200/104.  “It is what?”  Just Another Day in Paradise!!!  The information seeking questions spilled out of one of the firemen and the other was treating Nick.  The paramedics arrived and began the EKG… “It is Normal!”  The older of the two paramedics came over and tried to describe the readout he was looking for on the EKG…’It is like the Chevy commercial with the heart monitor theme.”  “Oh yes,” I said “The heartbeat of America” He said yes…Kinda funny that I could recall that seeing how I am a Ford girl.  I was paying attention to them while texting my husband the updates.  I sent one to my dear friends to let them know.  “The BP is coming down!”   By this time I was receiving text messages from friends who had been notified about the situation.  “Praying for your and your son” , “Keep us posted”, ” Love you and praying for your son”.  I was not able to check them all.

“My recommendation is you need to go to the ER” the paramedic said to Nick.  “We can take you there now and your mother can follow in the car.”  We see our children grow up so quickly and then glimpse a childlike expression during times of joy and excitement and fear.  The fearful look pleaded with me. Nick does not like to be the center of this type of attention..of course I don’t know anyone who would like this.  He is very independent and active.  “I will take him!”  They helped Nick to the “Ford Truck” (HEHE) and I got in.  The older paramedic asked what hospital I typically went to.  When I told him he said I should not go there..”They are slammed tonight!”  So off we went to the hospital down the highway.  I have never been to this particular facility but have heard it is good. Just Another Day in Paradise!!!

After updating my husband, who was still at work, I called my dear friend and left a message.  I simply told her we were headed to the ER and I would keep them posted.  We got to the hospital in good time even though time had passed us by and we didn’t even know how late it had gotten.  We parked and went in to the main ER door and stood in line.  “Yep, there was a line!” When we reached the desk the attendant asked us to fill out this form and I did.  “Oh, mam he will need to go down the hall to the Pediatric ER.”  I must have had a funny look on my face to which she responded “He is under 19 years of age.”  So off we went down the hall and through the doors.  No line and up to the counter.  The attendant smiled and looked at the paper I had in my hand and announced “We have chest pains!”  We were quickly swept into the back and Nick was hooked up to the EKG.

Once we repeated the information we had for them I sat down next to Nick and called my husband.  Nick wanted him with him so my husband said he would come.  I then checked my messages… “Be there shortly” was the only thing from my dear friends.  I called her and she and her husband were in route.  I told her that it was not necessary but she insisted.  So being the type of person I am I told her I knew why they were coming.  “You were just wanting to get out of the house together without the kids”  HEHE “There are better things to do for a date!”

The doctor ordered a chest X-ray and told us the EKG looked wonderful.  Relief flooded over me and I began to lower my shoulders a little bit.

I went to meet my husband when they took Nick to X-ray and came back to the area where Nick was waiting.  Nick was relieved to see his daddy and got up and gave him a hug.  Another little glimpse into the childlike nature!   I let my friends know my husband was there, just in case they were only coming so I would not be alone. “We are almost there..see you in a minute.”   I can honestly say that humor is the best medicine.  They arrived and the tension melted away… We were laughing and my husband was able to talk with them in a non-church setting.   Nick had been given pain meds and was beginning to feel better and the threatening removal of the EKG monitors on his body became the topic of conversation.   “You know the easiest way to remove those”  my friends said “Is to place duct tape over them and then pull back slowly making sure the monitor is coming up with the tape.”  “Right” Nick said sarcastically.  We were free to go and Nick was released.  He still has to be watched but there was nothing wrong with his heart.  Lungs were clear and the only thing they saw on the X-ray was inflammation of the muscle around the heart.  I felt like the situation had not been as serious as we had been led to believe.  At least it was not like taking a child into the ER only to find out it was just a cold.

We all walked out and chatted for a few then parted.  This was the best experience I have ever had with exception to the pain and suffering of my son.  That broke my heart many times during this time.  I can only hope to be as good a friend to the dear friends next week when the roles will be reversed.  Their daughter is having Major surgery to remove a growth on her skull.  The doctors will have to clot the blood in the femoral artery and try to slow the blood flow in preparation for the surgery the next day… Please keep them in your prayers.

So as I close this not so brief description of my evening let me say thanks for letting me spill my guts.  And from my little paradise and in the words of many of my messages last night…”I will keep you posted.”

Love you cuz!

D.L.

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on December 20, 2011, in Just Between Cousins and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Wow! How terrifying! Did they say what was causing the inflammation of the muscle around the heart? That sounds like something my daughter, Carol had when she was young. The layman’s term for it was “devil’s grip” because it was so painful! I don’t remember what they treated it with…I’m guessing an anti-iflammatory. I hope he feels better soon!

  2. Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

Leave a Reply

