Peach State says: Words to live by!

Mom!! He touched me, did not, yes he did...I saw him do it....."Words to live by!"

“Do you want me to pull this car over?”

“Leave your brother alone!”

“Don’t make me come up there!”

Words to live by!  Everyday parents all over this great big world of ours experience frustrating situations with children.  To bad we can’t act like they do.  What if we acted the same way and said the same things?  I venture to say the results would be eye-opening.  I will list a few of the statements heard in my house on a daily basis.  See if you have heard any of them before.

My children:                                             Mom and dad:

I’m bored!                                                        Go play outside.

Can I have some coke?                              We are eating dinner soon.

He’s bothering me!                                       Leave your brother alone

Really?                                                               Yep…Really!

Why?                                                                   Because I said so!

Whatever!                                                         I’m the MOM!

HUH!                                                          Treat people the way you want to be treated

Can I go _______?                                       What time will you be home?

Why can’t I?                                                      Be home before dinner!

He won’t leave me alone!                            Do you really want to wear that?

I am going to my room.                              Clean your room!

Leave me alone!                                             Have you done your chores?

But I just sat down…                                     But I just sat down…..

I am so tired!                                                   You’re tired! (lol)

ZZZZ!! (napping)                                            You will not sleep tonight.

You don’t know what I have to do!         Do your homework, chores

You have no idea!                                           You’re right…I never was your age…

“Alright already!, enough is enough!,  What was I thinking?”  If I, as a mother, said the phrases my children say to me; they would laugh.  They might stare blankly at me thinking I had lost my mind.  We find out, as we grow older, that our parents were not as ridiculous as we originally thought.   Then, to our dismay, we find ourselves repeating the same phrases and logic to our children.  SCARY!  I recall a day when my three sons were really testing my resolve and I simply looked at them and said “I am going into time-out!”  I retreated quickly to my bedroom and turned on the TV.  I relaxed and thought about my next step.  The next 15 minutes was very insightful.  There was a timid knock at the door and a little voice asking if I was okay.  There was silence when I did not respond.  The concerned whispers began then a spirit of resolve.  I checked my watch and I had been in my room for 20 minutes.  I walked to the door and opened it to find the three boys sitting next to my door.  Each of them were sitting quietly not knowing what to do.  They figured by sitting at the door they would be safe.  “I am sorry!” they each said and gave me a hug and went to clean the mess that had started the whole string of events.  I acted as if nothing had happened and started dinner.  When dinner was ready the boys were called.  We sat down and said the blessing.  It was my 7 year old’s turn to pray and this is what he said.

“Dear Jesus,

Thank you for the food and thank you for this house.  Thank you for my mom who put the wrong person in time-out.  She did not do anything bad.  Help her know that we are sorry that we did not do the room and will be better tomorrow.

Amen”

They had sat outside my door and worried about me while thinking about what they had done to cause this action.  Punishment served!  This lesson only lasted a little while.  I never put myself in time-out again but probably needed to.  I could have used the break!  The limited view is beginning to expand as they grow up, thankfully.  The older boys understand things with more clarity and I catch them giving parental phrase to our youngest…. I have to laugh and then stop them.  “You are not the parent!”  Where have I heard that before?  I try to gently remind them that even though I appreciate their intention to relieve the pressure from me I still need to be the one who is in charge of the situation.

The phrases and words, repeated daily, may sometimes fall on deaf ears but they do eventually sink into the dark and ever expanding matter located between a child’s ears.  Hopefully, as adults, we will continue to learn as well.  Our ability to handle situations must alter with each new adventure and be tested by the world we live in.  The life we lead is different than our parents and though the root of the problem may be the same the approach must adapt to the individual and circumstances.  The influences are so vast compared to those of my childhood and the chances of sheltering a child from negative situations is an uphill battle.  The basics are necessary and then we must go “step by step and day by day.”

I wish we could implant manners and not have to struggle teaching them.  I wish respect was automatically obtained at birth.  These two concepts would virtually bring conflict to a standstill and laughter would replace fussing, helping replace complaining.  What?….a girl can dream! Right?  Fortunately, I have had some of those times when the boys were, without any coercion, getting along and helpful.  “Those are the days!”  For now I will have to realize that my boys are respectful when around others and they do use their manners.  “Words to live by” are just a way of communication.  They offer the material to build bridges between children and parents.  They can teach and remind, the parties involved, of past situations and feelings.  Parents do not want to see mistakes repeated.  We can only hope that one day they will be able to “Walk in our shoes” and understand the importance of these “Words to live by!”

I know I probably left some of the best phrases off the list.  You probably have some of your own…What would be some of your “Words to live by”?

D.L.

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on December 14, 2011, in Just Between Cousins and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. My “words to live by” were pretty much the same as yours. “Say your prayers” after they got old enough that I didn’t say them with them any more at bedtime. “Be careful” especially after they began to drive! My stern warnings included a little wit…such as “Girl, I’ll yank a knot in your tail” and “I’ll wring your neck!” My reaction to having to enter their messy bedrooms…especially Michelle’s was, “Not without a court order!”
    The girls used to accuse me of “Making us lick the floorboards” whenever they had to help clean the house for company! Whenever they asked the ubiquitous question of “when?” my replies were “When we get there” “When it’s done” “When you see it” etc.
    Of course, some phrases are also used with the husband, such as, “How many times have I told you…?!” But the one I love hearing coming from my daughters is, “Oh no! I’ve become my mother!!!!!”

Leave a Reply

