Peach State says: The Art of Giving at a Whole New Level

Simple and Sweet!

Wow!  You should have been in the seat next to me last night at the Lottie Moon ( The name given to the Southern Baptist’s fund for Foreign Missions) Auction last night.  I have been privileged to participate in this auction for 3 years now and it is always a blessing.  The is one specific lady who comes just to bid high and support this mission fund.  I usually sit in the back and bid on one or two items.  I have my limit and do not go above it.  “The starting bid for this necklace is $10”  Do I hear $10? That is my cue…raising my paddle along with several other I raise the bid to $15.  Someone bids $20 and I place my paddle back on the table and wait for the next item marked on my list.  The battle begins and someone gets the necklace for $65.  Every bit of the money goes to the Lottie Moon Christmas Fund and those bidding know this.  They come with deep pockets and I just cannot compete with them.  “The next item is a Black and White Stone Bracelet similar to a Pandora style stone.”  The two men nod to the other men in the audience to let them know this is definitely something their wives would love.  “The bidding will start at $20″  Up goes my paddle..”I have $20..do I hear $25?”  Someone across the room bids and I raise my paddle.  “$30” I know this is my limit…. “Going once, going twice”  “$40”.  I laid my paddle down and watch as this sweet bracelet fades from my reach.  The amount moved up in five dollar increments till the lady, who I spoke about earlier, shouts “$100”.  The place roared with cheers and the auctioneer’s “Sold” brought the room to applause.  One of the helpers is given the bracelet and turns to give it to the lady who won…She points to me and says “Give the bracelet to her.”  The place went silent with a gasp and then she turned and said “Merry Christmas!”  I welled up with a tear and said thank you with a shocked look on my face and then looked up at Justin in the sound booth who had the same shock on his face.  She simply smiled and turned back in her chair.  She gave another item away to a young couple with the newest child in the church.

As the auction progressed she would just start the bidding at $50 and move the item in an upward fashion.  Her highest bid was $900 for 8 hours of work from one of the gentlemen in the church who is a handyman by trade.  She won!  Towards the end of the auction there were two items that I had planned on placing a bid.  One was 3 men’s haircuts at the Sports Clips, where the boys and Jon frequent.  Justin looked at me and I started the bid at $10.  Someone across the room shouted $15 and I countered with $20.  “Do I hear $25?” “$25” The auctioneer looked at me and said “We know you need this in you household Donna!”  I raised the bid “$30” “$35”  came from across the room and I laid down my paddle and looked at Justin.  He shrugged his shoulders with an “Oh well” look.  When the bidding stopped on the 3 haircuts it was $90.  To rich for my blood.  The 2 $25 iTunes cards went for $over $100 each and there was only one more item marked on my list.  2 men’s haircuts and styling supplies.  The same lady turned and looked at me and asked if I was going to bid.  “yes I am” I said smiling.  She smiled and said “$15”.  I responded with $25 and she looked around…. We both waited for another bid.  I guess everyone knew she was interested and stayed out of it.  The auctioneer’s looked to her to raise the bid and she nodded and they said “sold for $25”  I won it!  I think I may have actually said it out loud.  HEHEHE!

With the end of the auction came the line to render to Caesar…I watched as the mystery lady walked over and I placed myself behind her.  The total was $1,950.  She said make is $2,000 and that will pay for my dinner.  I paid for mine and waited to get her alone.  My chance came and I went to her.  “Could I give you a hug?”  She smiled and reached around my neck and said “Merry Christmas Donna!”  I do not know who she is but I gave her my measly thanks. “Thank you and Merry Christmas to You and Yours.”  I gathered my things and went to find the boys and spoke to many of the church people I knew… A form of catching up I suppose, letting them know I was happy at my church and appreciated their wishes of my return to their church.  Once I located Justin we moved to the truck to go home.  He laughed and said “I had to let daddy know that the item he was going to bid on sold for $25.”  “What was he bidding on?”  Justin just gave me his classic grin and said “The 2 men’s haircuts with styling products.”  I laughed and realized I had just saved Jon money by winning the bid.  HEHEHE!

We hear of events of goodwill and giving throughout the Christmas season but rarely get the opportunity to be a witness much less a recipient.  I know the biggest blessing is the look on the mystery lady’s face when she won a bid.  She knew what the money was for and how it would be used and that thrilled her to the core of her soul.  She simply glowed.  How did she know my name?  It is possible she overheard it but with all the other conversations why would she be paying attention to me.  Whatever the reason,  I am thrilled and blessed by it and plan on wearing the bracelet quite a lot.  Every third Sunday when I wear black for Praise Team. LOL!  All in all the evening was a great success and I had a delightful time seeing old faces and renewing the friendships.  Back to my own church and the seasonal outreach we have at this time.  I will put on my costume and walk the streets of the Town of Bethlehem behind our church this week and be blessed knowing that the thousands of people who come through the city, our church put together, will experience a little of what it may have been like when Christ was born and the true meaning of giving.

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on December 5, 2011, in Just Between Cousins and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. What a touching story! This blessed woman has a bottomless basket of generosity! I can’t wait to see the bracelet. I know you will think of her, and call her name out to the Father everytime you wear it! God bless her!

Leave a Reply

