Peach State says . . . Rainy Days and Mondays

Here we are at the beginning of the three week countdown until Christmas Break.  It has been raining all night and is still raining…

Jacob has decided that he hates school but is at least cheerful about it.  He just wants to go back to bed.  I wrapped his wrist and hand up this morning just to remind him that it still hurts.  The swelling has gone down but it is still tender.

Once Jon leaves, in about 30 minutes, I can carry on with the perfect activity for a day like this.  I will open my blinds in my office and curl up on my couch with Brittany.  Of course I will have to make sure she is not wet from going outside first.  The wind is blowing through the trees so they are gently swaying back and forth in an almost hypnotic way.  The leaves which remain on the limbs are brown now.  Dare I say it….They sky is gray…. Join me in song……The Mama’s and the Papa’s best song ever with The Carpenter’s..  Sounds like a good smash combo to me.  Rainy days don’t really get me down they just allow me the chance to reflect and not hurry through the day.

About 8:30 I will work on my book for a little while then move the laundry.  Ewww…Laundry!  At least the amount I have to do is very little now that the boys all do their own, except for Jacob.  He has a couple of years before this responsibility is his.  I will go over my solos for the upcoming five weeks and Christmas Eve Service when Justin gets up.  We only have one more practice because of Back to Bethlehem starting on the 3rd.  I have 3 solos and the two trio songs to learn well.  That is as it stands now. The Ladies Quartet is not singing for Christmas Eve so we may turn to a trio song.  Then it is off to the pantry to plan dinner.  My family loved the leftover turkey meal last night.  Justin asked if we could have it again and I gladly replied “after Christmas”.  HEHE!

I think a Christmas movie in on the schedule today…before Jacob gets home.  The weather should cooperate and be rainy all day.  If the temps drop we may have a mix tomorrow.  That will be another conversation….Love you cuz and have a great day.

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on November 28, 2011, in Just Between Cousins and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

