Peach State says: “And Mom and Dad Can Hardly Wait For School To Start Again!”

20120619-083341.jpg
My Facebook has been taken over with beach themed pictures and children clad in the glistening-sunscreen-and-sand-armor. The pails pictured in solitary state, as if posing for it’s close up, waits with it’s brightly colored accomplices…you know the shovel and rake…the occasional flip-flops. I know there are many more scenes of summer to come in the next 40-45 days.

20120619-083823.jpg

20120619-083834.jpg
We spend many hours planning a vacation getaway and then big $$$ is “shelled” out (excuse the pun!) just so that dreadful phrase will not be spoken. “I’m Bored!”

[insert the background music from the movie Psycho or Jaws...]

Sadly the song running through the heads of most moms and dads is a Christmas song…It is a well known and loved song…“It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas” It is not because the temperatures are unbearably high and no relief can be found…it has been relatively mild here!
It is because of the infamous line in the song…“And Mom and Dad Can Hardly Wait For School To Start Again!”

With school ending in May, those of us in this neck of the woods of Georgia, have already escaped for their Summer destinations. Some of my friends…you know who you are…are presently enjoying the Oceanside breezes mixed with that memory making salty spray. I may get the chance in July…(Crossing my fingers as I close my eyes tight!)…to visit my beach house. Our main destination is different this year as we will head north into the mountains.

No white sandy beaches…lots of trees.
No waves crashing…unless you count the waves made at the end of an amusement park ride.
No salty-wind-blown hair styles…wind blown hair styles after riding a new roller coaster.

You may think I am a little premature in my writing of this end-of-summer topic but, a sweet-spunky-spirit mentioned it during our chat time this morning. All I did was ask her what her schedule was like today…she ended her reply with wanting her children to go back to school! “She is the mother of three and the oldest is going into 5th grade.” I will probably feel the same way when I get back from my family vacation. “Let the countdown commence!” When we get home there will be about 20 days left before the meeting of teachers begins and the back to school shopping craze infiltrates every moment of the day…and then some. [The first day of school is August 1st 2012]

No, no, no, no, no! I am not looking forward to school yet! I am enjoying the solitude of my coffee time. No interruptions of panic-driven hustle-and-bustle looking for paperwork and shoes but, give me another 2-3 weeks and ask me again. I am a woman and we were created to change our minds quickly. My son has been enrolled in TKD and it will carry through into the school year. I take him, in his ninja t-shirt, every day.

20120619-094208.jpg
What? I will not hear him say those doom-filled words!

I have vacations pics coming my way and I will share…just in case you are in the same boat I have been in for the past several years. Then again…no one wants to be reminded of places they cannot go. It does get easier as the kids get older. “I can leave the house and disappear and they can fin-4.” (fin for yourself) I do take the youngest with me now that the older boys are working.

What will your summer hold? Have you made plans or are you already contemplating the return to school? Let me know! Have a great day!

Peach State

About justbetweencousins

We are first cousins who live farther apart from each other than we would like. We thought this blog would give us a chance to visit with each other as well as maybe share a few insights about life. We are both middle aged and until recently both of us had kids the same age (nearly grown). But then the Peach State cuz adopted a son, so she has four now. Heart of Dixie cuz has two daughters. We have a couple of things which are prominently in common (although I'm sure there are actually more): We vacation at our Mema's beach house in Panama City Beach, Florida - until recently, we did so with all of our kids. We both sing - although Heart of Dixie cuz is not currently singing anywhere right now. We both write. We are both Christians, although Peach State cuz is Baptist, and Heart of Dixie is currently floating about between the Anglican church, the Methodist church, and the Episcopalian church. Long story.

Posted on June 19, 2012, in About me, Children, cleaning, coffee, family, Home, Humor, Just Between Cousins, memories, musings, parenting, pictures and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I wish you could go to your beach house…I know how you love it. But, a vacation is a vacation! I know you will enjoy your stay in the mountains. It’s more relaxing in the mountains…usually. With my children grown, school no longer rules my schedule. The only difference is that I will be going up the street early in the morning to sit with my granddaughter at the bus stop when school resumes. Hopefully, hubby and I will be able to get away toward the end of August…probably to the mountains. But who knows! Maybe we will go to Savannah or Charleston. Or maybe he will take me somewhere new. Now, see what you have done? You got me dreaming of a vacation…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 277 other followers

